Direct vs mic

Mindkor

I am a newbie recorder. I own a mesa triaxis and was wondering if it's better to go directly or mic the mesa 4x12 cab ?

i do both,
micing cabs,
and capturing direct line level using a Palmer PDI-09.

mix them at will.

In my experience Mesa DI is pretty good. But if you're starting out, do yourself a favor and learn to mic your cab.

Half of the "boogie" sound, or any other amp for that matter, is the cab. Mic it.
:D
The DI is good, but it will not be the whole tone.

Even with amp sims, a big part of getting it to sound good and realistic are the cabinet simulations.

depending on the room and setup...

Smaller setup (when sitting in the same room with the amp and mics and/or sims) DI/SIM seems best using the studio monitors and not closed back headphones to setup the tone.
When you use speakers to set up the sound and tones , imo, its less work later. Spending a bunch of time setting up the sound in closed back headphones is almost worthless because it then sounds so different later when mixing through studio monitors.

if you have the bigger setup (the amp and mic in another room and eng in control room) a mic and amp would be my pick.

that was always frustrating to get a great tone through the closed back headphones and then at playback it was like shit..thin..required a makeover and massive work.

Try it. Just try it and compare. You should to get your answer.

I couldn't be convinced either. My gear is great for plugging in too and to me it sounded good enough. It idd a good job.
But after mic recording tests i was convinced that sounded better.

Not saying plugged in is bad. You can get good results with that too and i still do it sometimes.
While plugging in has advantages too. For instance if you don't have a good space/room for it, if you have to many nearby neughbours, or record late in the evening or night, or if you lack a good mic.