Complicated chords vs "regular" chords

Most importantly, practice your arse off and learn all your parts as best you can before you start rehersing. Then you can easily correct things and the band cam practice. There's not many things more annoying that turning up to reherse and some lazy twat hasn't learned his parts so you have to spend time teaching him things instead of rehersing.

As a jazz guitarist I play with piano a bass a lot, sometimes just piano. The core concept for playing dense chords is the bass plays 1 and 5, the guitar is the tenor voice of the chord and should voice the 3 and the 7. Those two notes are the essence of the chord. This allows the piano to play color at the top of the chord. Additionally by focus on the 3 and the 7 you are able to achieve nice voice leading without making the over all sound muddy.

Acoustic or electric? Picked or strummed? Gecko is right - A (add 9) and B (add 4) are really easy to play - by the way both of these are forms of sus chords, and if the piano is playing them then your 'simple' chords may sound dissonant. E/G# is fairly easy if you play a standard E major and use the little finger on the low E string 4th fret. If you're picking, you even play it by using a thumb wrap on the low E and then play just the top 3 strings with a D major moved up 2 frets.

Last edited:
by the way both of these are forums of sus chords.

They're actually not, and I think that's why people are saying they're easy. Asus2 (A, B, E) is easy. Aadd9 (A B C# E) isn't hard, unless you add the high open E, but it's definitely not the easiest chord.

Oh, you didn't tell us that there were specific fingerings/notes called out! What you're naming is an add 2.

Add9 is a triad with an added ninth above it (1 3 5 9). Add2 means you add a major second to the triad (1 2 3 5).