Calluses

I find that ^^^ to be a very awkward and unnatural hold...even limiting and somewhat unstable.
It's the typical "classic guitar" hold, but it just doesn't work for me at all.

It may work for some...maybe if you have those 8" fingers...but I think most people will "roll" their thumb up/down around the neck as they play, and as they change positions.

I've got big palms and short fat digits so neck size and shape pretty much are critical. I bought a BC Rich Warlock back in the late eighties as my first 2 octave flat fretboard shred style guitar and after about 3-4 months it became so painful to play(especially to my thumb, but also on my wrist)that I traded it and some cash at the local GC for a brand new cherry sunburst Epi Les Paul. I have acoustic guitar calluses' (callusi?) but my day job is master mechanic which keeps the skin on my fingers pretty tough so I haven't had blisters from playing Bass since I was 17 or something. I have an Ibanez bass, a Jazz bass and cheap Chinese five string that actually doesn't play/sound half bad but the Jazz is the most versatile for me.

Hello Nola,

Thanks for bringing the unconventional picking technique to members' attention. I posted the video merely for the fretting positioning insight as possibly being of value for spantini avoiding blisters in the thumb joint. Good observation, on your part, on the picking technique, however.

Interestingly, as the instructor walks through his store, during the first minute or so of the video, there are brief clips of him playing an acoustic and electric with a conventional pick-hand technique.

Personally, I would think for an introductory video a traditional pick-hand technique would have been appropriate.

After that particular video ends, it next goes to a much more recent instructional video of his. He is playing Country, and the pick-hand technique is conventional.