Buying a new guitar, need advice

Jimbo513

I have been playing off and on for about 11 years but recently decided to really focus on music. Since I decided to be more dedicated, I have picked up a Line 6 Spider II 2x10 and an Ovation Celebrity acoustic (starting to regret this one). I am still playing my 9 or 10 year old Washburn electric.

I think it's time I bought some serious gear. I definately want a new electric. I am thinking of a Les Paul or a PRS. Now I know the best guitar for me is the one that feels the best. I plan to head to a guitar shop soon to play some, but I would like some advice from you guys as well. I like a low, fast action. My play style is more lead I would say, but I do play alot of rhythym as well. I play alot of heavier stuff, Metallica, Disturbed. I want something I can play fast and has good tone. I plan on buying used, probably off ebay. There are so many LP configuratoins I dunno where to start.

I was also thinking about a new amp setup. Looking at Mesa Boogie stuff. Kinda want a half stack setup. I won't be doing any live playing for a while, will be just in my house. Would this be overkill? I have never owned a tube amp. Is this the way to go or should I stick with Line 6 and get their PODxt.

I really don't want to buy into all the new digital hype. I want to get my sound the old fashioned way, but is the amp modeling stuff like that the future? Should I get the Line 6 and experiment with that or go with old fashioned power.

Anyway, any advice would be great. Thanks.