Best Fender Strat Amp

lark

Hello,

I went looking for electric guitars today, and I found that I really liked the Fender Strats. Now, thing is I would like to know is what would be a good amp for this? I've been playing guitar intensively for about 6 months, and have been playing guitar for a little over a year. Though I've always played on my acoustic, and now I want to venture into the electrics. I went to Mars and Guitar Center today to check out guitars, but I didn't get much of a chance to really look into amps. I was wondering if someone could suggest me a good amp for the strat for around 300-400 USD, so that I could go and check it out at a store. My friend suggested I get a Marshall, and I tried it out. It sounded quite nice to me, but just wondering if there were other, possibly better choices? Thanks a lot, appreciate any help.

Lark,
No-one else can answer this for you.

Get out and try as many amps as you can......then make your own decision.

:cool:

Do you just want to record, or will you play live at clubs as well?

What sounds do you favour?

My general recommendation, if you can afford it, is towards 20-50W tube amps. I would rate older Fender combos right up there in terms of benchmark tone, but there are tons of others. They will deliver a warm clean sound, that can be pushed with pedals for grind. If you must shred, then perhaps this is not your best option.

It is going to be a matter of opinion; there are many great guitar amps available.

NOTE...Sorry I should have read your post clearer. If you can search and research used amps (this is really a good idea) for 300-400USD maybe:

Fender Hot Rod or Deville model,
Peavey Classic 30 or Classic 50?
Silverface Fender Champ, Princeton, Bassman or Tremolux?
Or other small old tube amps like Gibson,

Again this states my preference towards tube amps. They really have a feel and sound that you are probably used to hearing on your favourite music as most pro's still use them.