Best budget Bass for recording

nomy

Hi all.

This is my first post to this group, I'm just glad I've found it!

I am a guitarist, and just started home recording. I use Behringer V-Amp2 going into a Zoom MRS-1266. The thing is, I don't like the bass sounds built into the Zoom for sequencing. Infact, I don't like sequencing full stop to be honest, I'd be much happier playing live. So I am looking to buy a bass guitar. I know nothing about current models, but I'm looking for a good budget choice.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Nomy.

Ibanez, Yamaha, Epiphone, fender(the squire line), and some other manufacturers make good budget basses. You'll have to play some to find out what you like.

Ditto.

I personally was very impressed with the low end Ibanez basses (this was a few years ago). But I think the classic "go to the shop and play it and find one that sounds good" answer wins the day on this one.

Buying used can open up a bunch of options.

I bought a 1984 Peavey T-40 in excellent condition from eBay recently for $200 incl. hard case. After a good clean-up and new strings it's now flawless.

I've seen them as low as $150 and they beat absolutely anything you buy new for $300-$400+. Hardware is super-sturdy and tone is awesome (with a ton of tonal variation).

The T-40 is a very heavy bass and may therefore not suit everyone playing gigs, but if you use it for recording (sitting down) that shouldn't be a problem.

Check out the reviews on Harmony Central:
http://www.harmony-central.com/Bass/Data4/Peavey/T-40-01.html

I have a cheap Ibenez bass and I hate it. I want to smash it against the wall. I should have saved my money for a real bass. It sounds ok when played live. When I DI it, it sounds like shit next to my Taylor. Buy cheap buy twice. It was my mistake and Im sorry I did that. Since I am out of money I will probably rent or borrow a real bass for the remainder of my prodject.

I had the same good fortune as pennylink.