Bass Strings

rushfan33

I'm a drummer of 20 or so years that took up bass about a year ago. I don't have any knowledge of strings and yet it's time to change mine. I have an Ibanez SR400 four string with stock pick- ups. I like the feel of the strings that came with the bass and my guess is that they're a lighter gauge. I don't want real thick strings because of my limited playing ability but the sound I love to hear is the "gritty" yet "Phat" bottom end. I also like the Mid range as well, which leads to the question at hand.

What strings would you recommend me to buy? How much is a good deal at GC for a set of strings?
Lastly, any tips on installing them would be helpful.

Thanks

Strings i would reccomend...

Snarling Dogs Rock-a-Billys
Dean Markeley blue steels
D'addario EXL170M (which are light strings but have punch)

They all have great tone...the most expensive are the blue steel which are around 20-25 bucks. the d'addarios are around 15-20 bucks. and the snarling dogs are like 10-15 bucks. in my opinion they are the best, they have great tone. the best midrange is from the blue steels, but the d'addarios work well too. What you should do, is try some for around 2-3 months then change to a different brand until you think you have found the winner.

When installing them...make sure you wrap the string nicely around the capstan and then tune until the slack is taken up and then let the thing sit overnight for the strings to stretch, then tune in the morning. It will take about a week for the strings to loose the normal high end thats common with new strings, but youll definately get better sound.

If you are more daring, also consider changing your pickups if you have the time. EMG's are my favorite for bass pickups, but there are many other brands to consider to find the bass tone you want. Hope that helps! Cheers