Bass on a budget

JohnnyAngel77

Hello all. I'm pretty new here but I have been lurking the forums for a while and have read alot of great posts and advice (along with alot of sarcasm, heh).

I have been playing guitar for about 12 years now and bass for about 8. I've never owned my own bass though, I had always used friends. A few years ago, I decided to buy my own just to practice on and play some shows here and there. I ended up buying an Ibanez Soundgear. I must say for the price (was on sale for $249 I believe?), it has been a wonderful bass. It plays easy, sounds great, isn't too heavy.

I was just curious how many others own one of these and how it compares to a more mid-high end bass overall.

Thanks in advance.

Johnny

Best bang for the buck hands down is the Yamaha RBX 170 for 179.95 it has precesion neck pickup and Jazz bridge Pickup configuration, 2 volume pots with one tone pot controling both the bridge P-up and neck P-up 24 fret neck and lightweight Agathis body. you will not find a better sounding bass even at a $400.00 price range and plays like buttah!:cool:

then again any of the Yamaha equipment is very good gear IMO.
269395.jpg

Roguetitan

I'm really glad you posted that. I bought myself one for christmas because it was the absolute cheapest I could find without buying used. I think the tone is great and it's versatile, I was very surprised. It plays nicely too. I'm not a bass player by nature (which is why I wanted the cheapest - I guess), and I wasn't expecting much when I got it.

I just thought the great tone was my own lack of All-Things-Bass knowledge. Nice to hear someone else found the same sentiment.

Cheers,

i never liked the necks on the soundgears at all. some of them sound ok but i couldn't get by that tiny little noodle of a neck that they tend to have.