acoustic guitars

mugsy

I've been playing guitar for 35 years. I have a '72 Guild CE100e hollow-body electric, a '74 Ovation classical, and a '87 Fender American Strat. I recently bought an Ovation Standard Balladeer, (mail order). It sounds like hell. I gonna give it to my son. I'd like to get a Gibson J-150 or a Gibson J-45. Any suggestions? I'd try them out myself, but my local music stores don't have either.

You found that you didn't like your mail ordered ovation because you have not heard the guitar before buying it. That's always the problem with buying a guitar based on what you hear from friends or read in reviews because you are not them and will never come to the same opinion of a guitar and its sound. You may or may not like Gibson guitars, you may like or hate the J-150 and you may like or hate the J-45 ... nobody knows unless you go down to test it out yourself.

The joy of having money to get a guitar is this ... you get to shop for a guitar. Which means days or perhaps weeks of auditioning all the guitars you can lay your hands on before deciding which to get !

Yeah, there are just a lot of choices of guitars to throw out a name or two. I bought a Gibson acoustic a couple years ago that I hated. It was totally dead. But I have played a few I have liked ok since then. IMO, the best production guitar right now is the Taylor guitars. They can't beat a custom built acoustic, but I think they're better than any other manufactured guitars, at least the 500 series and up.

H2H

get a seagull artist series spruce top rosewood with the pickup and mic preamp system... only around 1200 or so and its awesome

speaking of acoustic guitars, I just love that foot smashing down on peter miller's stomping little robot man.

did you see the way that head came apart?

Ovations are really made to be plugged in. They always sound like crap played acoustically, but plug them in and they sound pretty darned good.