Acoustic guitar (non electric)

MrSounds

Attention: The below message has been posted by a beginner in home recording. Your advice is encouraged with friendly patients

I could not find a search menu here? So I will start a new thread and ask this question.. When recording a non electric acoustic guitar, should I be pluging the mic into the mixer and the mixer to the amp (to get the sound to the amp from the guitar)?

And If so, then what mic should I record from? The mic running into the mixer from the guitar or should I have another mic placed in front of the amp running from the mixer to record from?

I'm not able to plug a XLR into the amp of course, so that idea is out (mic to amp).

Or should I run the mic from the guitar into the mixer and from the mixer to the monitors themselves? And just record off the mic in front of the guitar that way?

So these may sound really silly, but I'm just starting out here, everyone was new at some point right lol

So how do you record on a non-electric acoustic guitar?

Also I'm getting a hiss which I'm having a major problem with?? Suggestions

Any help will be much appreciated

You should record the acoustic with a condenser mic, or whatever mic (usually they say a small or large diaphragm condenser mic and not go through an amp...unless you want that amp sound...then from the mic just into your preamp/ sound card/ mixer combo.

But it's not gonna sound all that great if you amp it up with a mic...to my ears anyway.

If I am recording an acoustic guitar, I will use a mike and go straight from there into the recording medium.

I would not go through an amp or mixer (unless the mixer is also your interface).

Attention: The below message has been posted by a beginner in home recording. Your advice is encouraged with friendly patients