tascam us-1800

jericho mile

i'm considering a tascam us-1800 interface, I've been using a 1in 1out interface for a few years now and now i'm need to move up to multi-tracking. i bought an m-audio fast track ultra and just could not get it going with win 7 and sonar 8.5 pro. Are any of you using the 1800 or know anything about it. thanks J.

i went from a smaller "two in" recently, and the Tascam 1641 (1800) worked perfect with my pc. great unit, great price.... around $260 with tax and shipping, used $175 CL.
running windows XP sp2. old AMD Athalon...CompaqSR1630nx...

just now switching from Kristal Audio Engine to Reaper, no issues yet.

I couldn't live without it actually. Rock solid unit. The fader is replaceable if it wears out. Works great for everything but the pan knob. It is not suited to Cubase. I hear it works fine on other DAW's though.

Oh, and got it used off Craigslist for $70. Way worth the money for the transport controls alone. :D

in responce to Jimmy's reply. can you control the effects in your daw with it like all the parameters on a software compressor or reverb unit or wwoul i need a separate control surface for that. i prefer to use the effects in my daw as opposed to hardware based effects simply because i already have them in sonar 8.5 pro and dont want to spend the money right now on hardware that i dont echnically need. i've heard the whole arguement about hardware being better than software but i dont complettely buy into that.

The Faderport will not control parameters within an effect. I have not ever found a need to do so with a controller. For me, the mouse works just fine for that. It will control features of your DAW. Transport controls, punch in/out, read/write, mixer view, solo, mute, pan, and of course fader level. These features alone will cut your mouse time in half. Not to mention workflow improvement by being able to use both hands.