Should I stick with my current setup??

Chris K

Hey Y'all, got a question for ya.
So, I've been learning recording for a couple years, now, and I still consider myself very much of a beginner at all this. With that said, though, I am starting to turn out some songs that I am really happy with, and I don't want to be limiting my sound quality more than I have to with my humble setup. I am currently using Cubase Pro for my DAW, but I still use the little Steinberg UR12 audio interface that I first started out with. My main mic is a Studio Projects C1 (arguably similar to a Rode NT-1A), and for my purposes, It does the job, and I am happy with it. ...but being someone who focuses on more acoustic recordings with clean, natural sounding vocals, I can't help but envy the sound quality that I hear in some other people's recordings, sometimes.
So, here's the question...
Is there a low-budget solution to significantly improve the sound quality of my recordings?
Which piece of gear is in the biggest need of an upgrade? The mic? The interface? Or does it make any sense to get a decent mic pre to use with a $300 mic and $100 interface? Should I just stick with what I have until I'm ready to upgrade the whole setup?
Any thoughts and opinions are appreciated!

Stick with what you have and just make music. When you actually need more inputs, then upgrade.

Edit: you never mentioned how you monitor.
Good monitors WILL make a difference.

Last edited:
Depending on your budget, you can add a lotta life to acoustic recordings with some good FX, most notably reverb.

A very "natural" sounding acoustic recording is very often almost exactly what you're now doing, only then processed crazy deep with slap-back, reverb, compression, and a few notches of EQ here and yon. In fact, some recordings, when turned up a bit, can reveal long chain echoes that no balladeer in any auditorium could ever produce, but are routine in the studio.

Effects plug-ins can make a big change to your sounds.