Preamp/interface noise (HELP!!)

AkwenESC

Hello, I have a problem. First of all, I want to start by saying that I am not a sound engineer, I am a voice over talent who recently is planning to go into the VO bussiness very soon. But I have a problem with my recording setup, namely that I get some sort of electronic buzz/hiss on my recordings. I am sitting inside a whisperroom that is treated with acoustic froam, I record through a Neumann U87 and I'm using an Avalon 737 preamp. Now, my interface, wich I believe is what causes the problem, is a Yamaha MG10XU mixer that has a usb connection and also works as an interface. However, I think its the yamaha that is causing the buzz, but I'd like to know what you think? Should I ditch it and get a proper interface that can be used for the sole pupose of being in a chain like this? Are there any good, quiet interfaces you can recommend that doesnt cost way too much? Or is it just that I'm doing something wrong in my ignorance and that whatever is causing the buzz is easy to fix by pressing/turning some button? I'm kinda desperate, I want to be able to record as soon as possible.

You posted your dilemna in the Gear Review section of the forum, maybe a mod will move it for you.

A buzz is like the sound of a bumblebee or large fly. A hiss - a kettle boiling with no whistle. Is it, in fact, a high-pitched noise (post a a
soundclip)?
Most USB mixers with A-D converters have this problem. I don't know if the Yammie has a USB volume control, but if it does, and you turn it down, does the sound get quieter/go away?

What you should be using is a proper Audio Interface. Any of the $100 and up AIs on the market will work for you. Do some reading here, plenty of suggestions and opinions.

Last edited:
You posted your dilemna in the Gear Review section of the forum, maybe a mod will move it for you.