open or closed headphones?

vanishbox3

i'm a newbie here and i've searched for threads on headphones already... but i just didn't find anything that totally answered my question.
you can all shun me now for wanting headphones for mixing... but i'm gonna be in a dorm room and i can't afford to piss my entire floor off with loud monitors!
i'm looking at audiophile quality stuff, but i understand the importance of having a truly flat response from the cans (or monitors for that matter).
i've always been amazed by bose stuff but i understand that their headphones wouldn't make great mixing phones.
anybody ever looked at Grado stuff? they're god awful ugly but i guess they sound good!
if i'm doing mixing, do i want open or closed headphones? it seems that all the audiophile stuff is wide open. i don't really plan on doing any tracking with these phones... just critical listening and mixing.
price really isn't a factor here... so as long as it's under 500 bucks, i'm willing to talk about it

I strongly recommend these. I have a pair and find them comfortable and accurate down to 50hz. One caution - mine are the older model of the 650s and they suffer from poor construction. That doesn't mean I wouldn't buy them again, because I would...

vanishbox3 said:
i'm a newbie here and i've searched for threads on headphones already... but i just didn't find anything that totally answered my question.
you can all shun me now for wanting headphones for mixing... but i'm gonna be in a dorm room and i can't afford to piss my entire floor off with loud monitors!
i'm looking at audiophile quality stuff, but i understand the importance of having a truly flat response from the cans (or monitors for that matter).
i've always been amazed by bose stuff but i understand that their headphones wouldn't make great mixing phones.
anybody ever looked at Grado stuff? they're god awful ugly but i guess they sound good!