headphones: ATH-M20 & ATH-D40 vs Sony MDR-7506 vs Samson CH700

isfahani

Disciple of Wong Jing
I am looking to buy some headphones, so I thought i would ask here and see if anyone has experience with any or all of these and would care to comment.

I am currently favoring the Audio-Technica ATH-M20's as they are half the price as the Sony's and with much the same specs and appearance... But I have no experience with any of them.

Thanks.

I own the Sony MDR-7506. I don't have any other cans to compare them to right now but here's my impression of them. Worth every cent. Comfortable to wear, physically tough, and nicely detailed sound. Most complaints I have seen about these cans is that the bass is hyped. This is really not the case though. When I compare a mix between the Sonys and my Yamaha HS80 monitors (all controls flat) it becomes pretty apparent that the Sony's actually have a somewhat shy midrange. The bass is just as flat as the monitors but because the mids are less present it makes the bass and highs come through the mix a little more.

What will you be using them for? If you get the AT, I'd suggest the ATH-M40fs, as opposed to the D-40, as they have a flatter frequency response.

I am going to use them for monitoring while i am recording stuff on my DAW and then occasionally to a/b mixes with.

Actually, now that I think about it - I do have a bit on experience with the Sonys as the organisation here I help with sound and staging tech has a person that does the archival recording and he mixes to stereo using these. And I have to say that that was my impression of them as well... Flat sounding and a bit scooped.

But I am all for finding something just as good but not having to pay for the Sony brand name, you know?

isfahani said:
I am going to use them for monitoring while i am recording stuff on my DAW and then occasionally to a/b mixes with.

But I am all for finding something just as good but not having to pay for the Sony brand name, you know?