Equalizers

Howdy

I presently have a DOD SR231QX Equalizer..... I bought it last year and my decision was made primarily on price... I know, not always the best way to make a decision. Digitech says it is their "flagship".... but, that really doesn't say much.

Anyway, I am wondering what others are using and if this unit is actually decent enough.... it seems to work well, but I am a novice and am looking for input from other more experienced than myself.

I think as far as inexpensive EQ goes, the dbx 242 really seems to do the job. Rane and Symetrix also seem to make some very usable stuff.

Although I'm not familiar with their "flagship" models, my impression of DOD is that they make some very basic, amateur / entry-level kind of stuff, so it depens on how serious you are about sound quality. I could be wrong, though, obviously.

How are you using the EQ? Do you need 2 channels? Does it have to be a graphic equalizer? I have an Aphex 109 which offers 4 bands (mono) and two bands (stereo) plus a tube design. They may be discontinued but I've seen them advertised at about $399.

Chessrock.... since I am new to recording equipment, I don't know if this unit is amateur or not... but then, obviously since the unit only cost around 150.00 bucks, I figure it is probably not the best out there. <g> I will definately take a look at those companies you mentioned.

As far as the serious thing goes... I think I am just now beginning to learn enough to figure out that if I am gonna get serious about it, I had better start learning some stuff. <g>