Sticks

Resurrect

I know this isn't exactly a recording question. But I figured I'd ask it here. I'm having a problem choosing sticks. I've been playing drums for many years now, and have always come up against the same problem.

I like Promark's sticks because of the shape of the wooden bead. It doesn't fracture and split. However, the actual strength of the stick is rather weak in comparison to a Vic Firth stick. I like Vic Firth because they make the sticks to last, an they don't break near as easy as a Promark. Unfortunately, Vic Firth's bead shape is such that the bead chips apart a little every time I play. And then I don't get the same feel and touch on the cymbals and hihat.

I know some of you would suggest nylon tips, but I don't play with plastic. Lol. I hate the sound.

Is there another brand out there that you would suggest, or am I doomed to going through two pairs of Promarks every couple days?

You know, there are more than two makers of drum sticks. Vater, Regal, Nova, Zildjian, good or bad, they all make sticks.

Your problem is lost on me though. I never break the tips. Mine always crack at the tape or midway. One thing I've noticed is that cracks happen on grain lines. If you're splitting tips, maybe be more selective. Look for less grain.

I just switched back to nylon and I can not tell the difference in sound at all, not while playing or on my recordings. I was chipping promark wooden tips every single time I played and just blowing through sticks.

This is why I buy the cheapo budget sticks. They're disposable. I just check em for straightness and no grain lines. I prefer a wood oval tip, but really don't care. I'll go through several sets of sticks at the shop and make my own pairs. My hand selected by me cheapos last as long as I need them to. No problems. I do not understand people that buy the big name sticks for triple the cost only to break them within one song. Fuck that.