Recording kick drum

groove2u

So I am relatively new to the acoustic drum recording game. Everything I have recorded up until now has been loop and sample based for a myriad of obvious reasons (micing is time consuming, finding a good drummer, etc) well you get the picture.

Anyways, I believe I have seen the light and upon recording an acoustic kit the other night with a hot drummer, I fell in love witht the richness of tones and confess that for me, sample based drum recording may be a thing of the past.

The only thing I would like to continue to use sample wise is the kick. I was very unhappy with the sound I was getting with a d112 inside the kik. It was really midrange tubby and the bleed from the other drums and cymbals was terrible. In fact I was happier with the overhead sounds I was getting for the kick than that from the kick mic itself. Go figure.
I have a vast assortment of kicks in my sample library and I feel that keeping the rest of the kit acoustic and live will give me a more honest and organic feel.

I know this issue has been brought up a thousand times, but my question is this, can I achieve the same organic sound with an acoustic kit and sampled kik as I can with a completely acoustic live kit.

Any thoughts or recording samples would be greatly appreciated.

Peace