Recording Drums For First Time - Where do I start?

colish_04

Hey guys, I'm in great need of your expert help. I've been drumming for awhile now but this recording stuff is pretty new to me. First off, I'll tell you about my setup:

1) The Kit - 4 piece ludwig rocker (22" bass, 16" floor, 12" tom -- all with pinstripe heads)
- 14" yamaha beech custom snare (fyberskin 3 FA batter head)
- 14" B8 hats, 16" B8 pro medium crash, 14" B8 thin crash, 20" B8 pro medium ride, 22" HH Manhattan ride

2) The Mics - superlux pra 218A (bass), pra 228A (floor and mid), pra 268AH (overheads)
- shure SM57 (snare)

3) The recorder - tascam 788 digital portastudio

Now I know the first thing that you'll want to tell me is "buy better equipment you cheap bastard." The truth is, I've spent a lot of time on every little detail of this set and I'm very happy with the sound I get out of it. Second, I'm a university student with no money, so going out and buying stuff is a last resort.

What I'd like to know is, what can I do to make my recordings sound better using the equipment I have? I've tried recording without doing any eq'ing or effects and everything seems to sound really dull. I guess I could fool around with the gate, compressor, or whatever the other things are called but I don't even know what they do! If you guys could just give me some guidelines as to what I can do when it comes to the mixing and mastering stuff, it would be greatly appreciated (or just refer me to some book if that's easier).

*P.S. if anyone has the same portastudio, can u confirm my suspicion that it doesn't have phantom power and that's the reason my condensor's aren't working?

Your question is a vaste one. You are essentially asking for a complete course in recording and there's way too much information to be included in any response.
Start with one thing at a time. Try going to the "search" option on this board and you will find that most of your questions have already been answered....a lot.