Panning A Drum Kit

Resurrect

Ok. So, I already have set my opinion on this, but would like to hear the input of some others as well. When I pan my drums, I pan them from a drummer's view point- hihat far left, snare and small tom 50% left, large tom 50% Right, floor tom far right, left Overhead medium to far left, Right overhead medium to far right. Now I'm a drummer. Have been for over half my life. (Being 19 that makes it going on 10 or so years now). But it seems all the major artists, or rather, producers, pan the drums almost mirror image of me. They must be trying to do it from an audience standpoint. Personally, I have never been on the receiving side of a live kit and heard any right/left variation that I could discern. You only experience that when you are on the throne playing. So when I listen to these songs, everything's wrong and it drives me crazy. With my music, I wanna take my listeners inside the song, to transport them for about three minutes into my world. Spectator viewpoint panning (or should I say, hearpoint?) seems to do the opposite. But thats just my opinion. I was curious to read what you guys think, and what you do personally. How do you pan your drums? And to what ammounts?

When live sound is done in stereo it's common to pan the drums according to audience perspective. If video is shot with an audience perspective it's nice for the drums to match, even if not all the shots are from that angle. The vast majority of those listening to the recording (one hopes) won't be members of the band so audience perspective works there as it's nice for the sound to create a picture of the band.