Need help changing sound of snare

schwim

Hi there everyone,

I'm a complete novice at playing and completely lacking in any knowledge of recording, so go easy on me. I don't know what to call anything and I may give you tons of info you don't need :)

I have attached a snippet of some drums I just recorded. I'm using CAD mic setup with an independent mic for bass, snare and the high hat and cymbal are sharing one mic. I don't mind the sound of the brass and bass, but I very much dislike the "ringing" of the snare. It's a Pearl steel snare with the steel spring band across the bottom.

Is there a way to make this sound more like a traditional snare? I'm trying to get rid of the echo that sounds after the hit. I have a tom that a previous owner taped a square of a folded paper towel onto the bottom of that seems to get rid of the ringing quite well, but I haven't tried that yet.

I appreciate any suggestions you can provide and thank you in advance.

Attachments

• drum_levels.mp3
    238 KB · Views: 15
Tune the snare tighter. Make sure the top and bottom heads are at a different pitch, but in tune. Adjust the tension on the snare wires so they don't buzz, but don't choke the drum. That's pretty much it.

Also, the majority of the ring you seem to despise is what gives drums a musical quality. Most of that ringing is inauduble in a full mix, but it makes the drums sound more pleasant. A music-less drum clip tells you pretty much nothing. You need to get instruments in there to see how the drums are really gonna interact with everything else. Don't go overdampening your toms or snare.

Thank you very much for your help, Greg. In your opinion, is the snare in the clip something that's not out of the ordinary? It's not that I despise the sound, it's just that to my untrained ear, it doesn't sound what I'm used to hearing in the music I listen to. I never considered that the sound I'm hearing blends in with the rest of the elements of the music.