I've lost my perspective.

getuhgrip

Bring Back Transfat!
I've been setting up my studio for 2 years now. Getting a good recording on my drums are the only thing still eluding me. It's a small room at 12 X 13.
I'm playing Mapex ProM's and have tried a boat load of different heads and tunings but can't get the big thump I want out of my toms or the clean sound I want from my snare.
I feel like I need to just pull all the heads off and start over with a fresh persprctive.

Small room, five mic's. Any thoughts on getting tight, big sounds from toms and snare?

What mics are you using?

How is the room set up?.... Do you have Auralex, blankets, or bare walls?

Are you sure it's the drums themselves that don't sound that good, or just the way you're recording them?

Bare walls still. sm58 on da bass, sm57 between snare and hihat, atm25 between toms, pair of 603s as overheads and a v67 about 5' in front at about 4' high as a room mic.

I think my biggest problem is chasing tunings around a small room. I bought a few drum triggers several months ago and am tempted to find a brain box and dead heads for a triggered set.

if you cant do any type of room treatment to make the room sound better, you may want to consider deadening it some......hanging blankets around the kit seems pretty common

https://homerecording.com/bbs/searc...id=47932&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending

I put in drums and blankets into the search and got the above results........

Also try to get it right with 2 or 3 mics before moving more in....phasing issues are a bitch....

Id put the ATM 25 on the kick, the sm57 on the snare and the 603's overhead.....if you want a really good kick sound, double mic the kick with the sm58(screen off) inside and the atm25 on the outside a bit out front.......

Gidge, how come you say to take off the screen on the sm58? this does not damage the mic (interms of increasing the spl?) ?