Home-built edrumpads - Newer Designs?

markert

I have been building my own drum pads for my alesis d4 unit for several years. I use the remo practice pads and piezos from Radioshack. These work pretty well and my design is excellent(I was a mechanical engineer in a past life) but I want to know if home-built technology has moved past this remo/radioshack era.

Specifically, recently I bought some Pearl mesh practice heads and have been using some Ddrum triggers on these. Works pretty well, but I want something more elegant. When I go to the music store, I generally spend alot of time trying to see inside the Vdrums or Hart mesh pads. Seems like they just have a mesh head with a "column" of foam or something connecting the mesh head to the piezo trigger. Damnit, I know I can reproduce this, but I need input from any other garage edrum builders! $200-300 is alot to pay for one mesh pad from roland or Hart. Especially if we can think up a design using a $7 mesh drumhead, my existing drum shells, a $2 cord, and a $1.49 piezo from RadioShack.

Ive read a lot of stuff about this very subject on a particular discussion forum but I`m a newbie here so I dont want to start posting url`s to different forums.

But from what ive read it seems the main problem with home made pads or even mixing pads and modules from different companies is that the positional sensing dosen`t seem to work too well if at all.
This is where the module detects where on the head the stick strikes and plays an apropriate sound.

I have a Roland V-drum Pro kit and while you dont get a 100% capabilites of a real drum or a real cymbal , this feature can really add a little bit of life to the sound.
In particular the snare and the ride cymbal.
If you hit the snare on the outer edge you get a distinct ring.
And the ride cymbal can change from a bell sound to a clean ride sound to a more earthy sound if played towards the edge of the pad.

markert said: