Glyn Johns Method....sort of

ibleedburgundy

The Anti-Lambo
So I was experimenting with this method the other day with some changes. I have a pair of Naiant SDCs that I've been using as overheads. Lately I've been feeling like they were a bit thin sounding and considering an upgrade. Then I was reading about the Glyn Johns technique. Someone on a forum was saying you probably ought to be using a darker sounding mic. The Naiants aren't that, and I don't have another pair of SDCs. So I decided to use my KM184 as the snare overhead and my AT4040 as the mic that goes nearer to the floor tom - both exactly 40 inches away from the center of the top snare drum head.

Instant revelation. My drums had never sounded like this before. It had this instant Phil Collins/Easy Lover type sound (I mean that in a good way). It was a really cool effect except for one thing: I have a china cymbal right above my ride cymbal on the floor tom side and that put the AT4040 right on plane with it. So whenever I hit the china (which is a Meinl Byzance - totally fucking awesome cymbal that is an integral part of my newest project) I got this weird wash where the cymbal was hitting the overheads at different times. Sounds fine on the KM184 but the AT4040 is picking up major pitch fluctuations as a the cymbal flops around. If I panned the overheads hard, it would basically sound like the china was flying around the room. Very unnatural.

So then I raise up the AT4040 to be off plane with the China but still precisely 40 inches from the snare. But then I lost the Phil Collins effect. Damn it! :mad: