Electric or Acoustic Drums?

OnlyGrace

Hey all, I'm sure there are many different opinions on this one, and I'm also sure this has been asked before. I'm not a newbie to recording, but I am to drums. I currently record just about everything except drums. So I was thinking if I got the acoustic I would have to by overhead mics, a kick mic, a snare mic, etc. So why not go electric? I mean is there a huge difference in sound? I mean I will be able to save $$$ on mics. Can you tell it's "electronic"? I play Christian/Ballad/Acoustic music if that helps. Thanks in advance :)

just get some real drums. you can get by with a couple of mics, no need to mic it all up unless you're freaking Rush.

My Opinion

I have been a recording drummer for over 20 years.
I also play Bass and some guitar.
I much prefer a well played Acoustic kit in a nice room over an electric kit for music styles as you describe.
Having said that,drums are perhaps the hardest instrument to record if you want them to sound good. If you don't have a good room and the ability to isolate something that puts off 110 decibels,I'd reconsider the electronic drums route.

Unless you are willing to devote a ton of time and experimenting on mic placement and room treatments, the simplest way to get a nice sound is the E-Kit. At least the sounds are pre-sampled and sound consistently good.

I like the Acoustic kit because of the nuances I get, but if you are just a beginner you won't be concerned with that till you have a lot more experience. You will contending with the fundamentals of playing. Plus if you record the kit via MIDI, you have timing correction available to you .

Yes, there are a million threads on how to mic a kit with 3 or 4 mics in a pukey room, but unless you are REALLY set on doing everything yourself, I would actually suggest you join a musicians collaboration site and get a fellow musician to lend their talents to yours.