Editing Drums

TheNightman77

Hi there,

Im having a problem with editing my drums after recording. Admittedly although not really a noob in the fact that I've been recording for a few years, I am in that everything I've learned I've taught myself so there's still much that I don't know that is probably considered standard recording knowledge. I generally record to 4 or 5 tracks using overheads/kick/snare. My main problem is during the editing phase after recording where I line up my transients with the click track to ensure proper timing. I am doing all of this manually rather than quantizing as I do notice an audible difference when I try to quantize....it seemingly degrades the quality of the hits and often even seems to make the recorded audio quieter (I use DP6 as my recording and editing software). Is this normal?

Anyway I may be going overboard in the drum editing process in that I am making edits almost on every hit to line the up correctly. Its possible that I am just settling for a subpar performance and then trying to edit everything, so I am going to try to do better with that in the future. However given that I have already done all the edits on a song I am working on, I have included crossfades between all of the hits. I was originally skeptical about this but I found a drum editing video online where the guy did it for every hit and just nudged everything to line up with the transients and had great results. I thought this would work for me but unfortunately it seems to be overloading my processor (or maybe my converters?) and slows down the playback. Its actually gotten to the point where if I try to add another crossfade my project is seemingly unable to process the request. If I try the "merge soundbites" option rather than crossfading it also appears to degrade the quality of the audio.