Drums with 3 mics vs. drums with 2 OHs and a kick replacement plugin

DrJosh

I'm just starting out recording and am considering tracking drums with minimal gear. The goals are to monitor my playing, to learn how to play so that the tracks come out well (becoming a 'good' drummer in the engineer's view), and to learn more about recording than I can by just reading this forum. I'm considering two different setups:

1) Audiobox + 2 OHs

2) Firebox + tubepre + 2 OHs + kick mic

With the first setup I'd use a drum replacement plugin on the OH tracks to trigger samples of my kick. I've downloaded reaper and some overhead tracks off the net and played around with a few of these plugins. They seem to do pretty well if you can isolate the lows. Not perfect, but I'm not great at messing around with the triggering parameters--I figure this is a skill that comes with practice. Maybe you guys with more experience with this sort of thing can weigh in here?

So, given the current drum replacement plugin technology, is this a decent alternative to the traditional 3 mic approach?

you can edit the snare and tom hits out and trigger those too. it's not as easy as the kick, but it's do able.

I did it once as an experiment. A friend of mine wanted me to mix his 8 track recording with just a stereo drum track. I did that, but then experimented with replacing the drums. I tried it on 2 songs and it sounded pretty good.

In one of the songs the snare was too loud though and it was really obvious there were 2 snare sounds happening. I ended up using the triggered snare to duck the original drum tracks. The cymbals ended up sounding weird. On the second track I tried it on it worked perfectly though.

here are the 2 tracks:

http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?id=15651

http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?id=15650