Cymbals Upgrade

ex351d

Since I am a guitarist, I never really got any drum gear. When I was a kid my dad bought me a drum kit and it is what I have in my home studio. It was delivered with Paiste 101 brass cymbals. The drums does not sound bad at all, so, now that the cymbals have cracked, I would like an upgrade.

I am leaning towards the Session or Universal pack of Paiste PST7 or the Istanbul Mehmet Samatya. I am not sure which would be better. I am no expert in drums and would like an opinion. But, from what I can hear, the Paiste have great definition and can cut through a mix better while the Istanbul have a more complex sound. I record different stuff from religious music to blues, pop, rock and hard rock.

My budget is 500 Euro. I would like to get a pair of hi-hats, 2 crashes and a ride.

Wow, okay then. You're gonna have to go cheap or really look for some good used deals. That's a pretty small budget for that many cymbals.

OMG that flair Greg lol.

Anyhow I would consider axing one of the crashes and yeah if you want good stuff you're gonna have to go used.

Used is almost impossible to obtain here as I live in a small island country. Do you have any suggestions on the cymbals mentioned. If I were to go at pro level I would get a 2002 ride for the price of a complete average set. And I would have no use for a ride without the rest. I do not use my drums extensively so I am not so willing to spend too much.

I'm not an experienced drummer, but I've been very happy with the Zildjian A Series 391 box set. Honestly they're the only cymbals I've ever owned, and I've only had them for a couple of months now. But I think they're terrific, and they record well. If you can stretch your budget about another 100-150 euros...might be worth a look. They're in that sweet spot of not being horrendously expensive, but still sound great.