cymbal sound-"trashy"?

monster

...i'm new to the art....I have what i believe to be shitty cymbals and am looking into alternatives. Can anyone describe (or post an audio file) what people mean by "trashy" or dirty, etc. in a cymbal sound. It would be helpful to compare w/ what is a clean sound. What are examples of each, e.g. what are the differences between zildjian A and Z? is one trashy and the other not? thanks.........

Z's are generally used more for heavier rock music. They are very loud and heavy cymbals.

A's are more sizzly I guess and generally more musical imo. There's a bit of shimmer in them. Usually lot's of sustain unless you get the 'fast crash' ones.

Neither are trashy, as they are both top of the line cymbals. If you want shitty zildjians get the zbt's......or just get paiste's.

Personally I love a trashy sound, it fits my postindustrial music perfectly. I use a 14" china ZBT as a hihat top & a 14" ZBT crash as the bottom, and the 13" hats as crash symbols. It sounds aggressive as hell. Then I use two snares, a piccolo with the usual ping, and a standard snare mounted on a tom rack that I tuned to sound like a trash can. GAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! Anybody wanna fight?

Grohl is on Leno now, gotta go.

OK done watching Grohl. What the hell is it drummers like so much about tendonitis? I mean Grohl's drummer swings his sticks about two feet behind his head with every beat, and his cymbals are at least a foot above his head. So much wasted motion.

He should hang out for five minutes (yeah, I know it ain't live and on the wrong coast) and watch Max Weinberg and learn a lesson about drumming with and without pain.

Funny thing is that Grohl doesn't do that, his kit and motions are way more efficient (at least they are now, I forget the Nirvana days). I mean no guitarist lifts their fingers six inches off the fretboard between chords.

Stealthtech said:
Good point.
And by the way Erich, I love my Paiste Rudes