Computer Drumming in a Live Setting?

AvoidTheClap

Odd question, but this is pretty much the best place i knew to ask for it.

I'm a solo artist, who knows tons of bassists, cellists, keyboardists, etc, but drummers in my area are few & far between. & the good ones are already in 2-3 bands & far over committed. I use programmed drums for my songs in the studio, & was thinking of taking those tracks & playing to them live.
It's somewhat..lame..to do so, i realize. but its not like its just me on stage. it'd be 4-5 people total.

Now the question, whats the best way to do this? Bringing my laptop & firepod & all, to play through cubase doesn't seem like the best option, as computers can lag & firewire connections can drop, etc.

I don't think i need a drum machine, as the tracks are already done. Maybe just a multitrack with a hard drive i can drag the wav's onto & play them?

thanks.

Didn't the Sisters of Mercy (80's band) do this as a matter of course with an old drum machine? Kind of heretical to even mention this sort of thing, but maybe the drummers on the board won't see this thread [ducks, runs :p].

I've been thinking about taking my Korg PadKontrol (this is a midi drum trigger thing) into a live scenario, but I'm a little afraid I'd get my ass kicked. The other problem is that I suck at drumming even when it's not real :D

Actually
It gets done all the time.
Sometimes it is not the complete drum track, but percussion... often supplimental Keyboard.

One of the easiest ways is rendering the drum track and a click to a stereo .wav or MP3 with the click on one side and the drum on the other. Feed the click into the monitors and the drum track where ever you need it.
You can preload them to a cd and simply use a CD player, or you can put them on a laptop and build set lists before you go on stage.