Best Drum Kit for Recording?

recordingsounds

All,

I'm relatively new to the recording scene (about 3 years now). Until
recently I've been recording with a drum machine until, that is, I did
a recording with a real drummer and full drum set - Woah! What a
difference that makes to have a real drummer and real drums miced!

Now there's no turning back - Every (serious) song I record now has
to use a real drummer/drums. Unfortunately the drummer I was using
is no longer available. He had his own drum set and studio where we
could record - so I'm looking for a drum kit for my home studio and
will recruit another drummer soon.

Can anyone recommend a good drum kit (new or used) for recording?
I write/record mostly roots rock, blues, folk stuff. e.g., Van Morrison
Amos Lee, Norah Jones to Rolling Stones type stuff. Any recommendations?
Thanks!

For the type of music you listed, I would suggest getting a thin-shelled Maple kit.

However, the "best sounding kit" is still going to depend on the player, how the drums are tuned and the room in which they are being recorded!!!

Yeah dont underestimate the room! One of the reasons your drums might have sounded so good is because your friend was (most likely) recording them in an open, acoustically treated space.

My kit is in my garage which is surprisingly pretty dead sounding from all the junk piled in there. But a not so shocking realization is that my drum tracks always come out sounding thin and cold (maybe its just the weather in the garage :D)

When I moved them out of the garage into the open room in my house with tall ceilings, etc, they sounded 10 times louder and more powerful and I was only using 2 overheads and a kick mic :eek: So I guess im never recording in the garage again

Oops Sorry for the small rant. good luck though! The best thing to do is find specific songs you like and maybe post a clip or two here, then people can be of more help