• Live Sound User Reviews RSS Feed


  • Content by Audiofanzine

    QSC K10 - In Love with my K10

    by bolufe
    11-09-2013 04:21
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=100380" alt="" title="QSC K10 - In Love with my K10" /></p>I have been using various speakers for band and we have tried other brands and set ups including the Bose systems and what we have landed with is the QSC K10's they can handle the full spectrum of sound from bass, synth, drums, backing tracks, and Guitars and sound amazing. We use the PreSonus Studio Live 16.0.2 Mixer and we just sound great. The QSC K10's really made a huge difference in the way we sound and play. They sound clear, detailed no muddiness and the fans love the way we sound. The ease of the use is great too and can be used for a solo gig with a iPod hooked up to play backing tracks. Great speaker and for our use just the best we can play louder with out feedback and the clarity of tone is just something you have to experience to understand. We got a great deal from www.hsprosound.com The regular price was $749 and we got them for $699 each. The guys at www.hsprosound.com are real pros. Thanks HS and QSC.

    Line 6 StageSource L2m - A good choice for some

    by tpeplinski
    08-27-2013 22:18
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=174337" alt="" title="Line 6 StageSource L2m - A good choice for some" /></p>As a live sound engineer and occasional performer, I thought it might compliment my extensive collection of P.A speakers in many brands. I decided on the L2"M"s as I do not need the built-in mixer and thought the more bells, the more opportunity for problems. Results: I take them to every gig whether it is for a fill in festival sound (with subs and satellite speakers) or a small casual stand alone. The sound is perfect for guitar, vocals, brass, strings, anything that has a mid to high range eq. I found that it is not adequate for lows, and if you are adding bass, low eq keys, low brass, kick, you should use a sub or a speaker with a 15"; and a good alternative is the latest JBL eons (own as well). I compared line 6 sound to similar powered Yamaha, Mackie, EV, JBL, QSC and found that the clarity of the sound in the mid range & highs was exactly what I was looking for. I also liked the EV and JBLs, but the Line 6 won out due to my application. I think at $750 the price is a little high, and some people might really want to consider the JBLs as they cost a lot less, equal in weight, and sound great at the lows. For about $100 more, consider the 12" QSC Ks (although I have not been blown away from them as other reviewers). Finally: I have really (purposely) pushed these speakers beyond normal and they perform without distortion or feedback. For guitar/keys/violin/and especially vocals, you will receive an increase of compliments for your sound. These speakers have paid for themselves just in the repeat business I have received for running sound alone. They have proven to be the perfect choice for me, and was pleasantly surprised at the "long-throw" especially at outdoor events. You can cover more space at low volume as the sound does not drop off when elevated on stands... (not a rule but, I like the bottom of speakers to be at 66" high when used as Mains). I would highly recommend these or "T" model $850 for the soloists over the Bose (I like the Bose L model IIs, but $2400?) ...larger coverage with no sound drop, almost equal feedback, easy use, use anywhere.

    JBL MP 418 SP - JBL MP418SP

    by Renaldo Mystic
    03-08-2013 01:08
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=24750" alt="" title="JBL MP 418 SP - JBL MP418SP" /></p>Hi my name is Renaldo Mystic, I am in the market to purchase a pair of JBL MP-418SP. Please contact me at (718) 537-0075 or renaldomystic@hotmail.com or odlanermusic@yahoo.com.

    Ibiza Sound AMP- 600 - Ibiza sound AMP- 600 : splendid

    by joaono
    05-19-2013 04:45
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=116524" alt="" title="Ibiza Sound AMP- 600 - Ibiza sound AMP- 600 : splendid" /></p>Great amp

    JBL PRX612M - Big sound, Priced right

    by stompboxjon
    12-03-2013 04:55
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=110440" alt="" title="JBL PRX612M - Big sound, Priced right" /></p>The JBL PRX612M is a 1000 watt active speaker with a 12 inch speaker in it. It only weighs around 35 pounds and is made for the road. Out of all of the times that I have moved this speaker around so far, I have noticed that it doesn’t scratch easy and it is very easy to lift with the handles. It is only around 2 feet tall and can be mounted on a pole. If you want to use it as a floor monitor that can be done as well because it does not slide at all, on the bottom of it are rubber feet to keep it in place (unless it gets knocked forward or backward it will not move). The compression driver in this speaker is 1.5” and it is very powerful. The sound that you will get with this speaker will handle all of your mid sized venues. There is also a input section on it with selectable EQ options. The sound is very clean and big; it can handle all sorts of music as well as live bands, instruments and speeches. I have also used it with a few different amps but really didn’t notice much of a difference in sound/power while using them. Even with smaller and cheaper amps this speaker still sounded pretty good and powerful enough to work with the current set up that we had. The frequency range is 50 Hz to 19.5 kHz, and by looking at the specs it will seem like it cannot handle a lot of the very low frequencies but it really can. I did notice that the low frequencies sounded better while the speaker was mounted on a pole (maybe because it was at ear level). This speaker is very affordable and with it being a JBL it is a must have!

    QSC KLA12 - QSC delivered with this one

    by stompboxjon
    11-03-2013 13:16
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=114660" alt="" title="QSC KLA12 - QSC delivered with this one" /></p>The QSC KLA 12 cost over 2500 dollars and is worth every single penny of that price! It is a 1,000 watt active speaker with a 1.75 inch high frequency driver and a 12 inch low frequency driver. It has adjustable frequency optimization features and a very good sound. It has a 12 to 1 ratio factor that will allow you to have up to 5 separate units. I have only had the chance to personally work with it 4 times now but each time that I do I love it. I would purchase it myself If I had the need for it. There is a tilt direct mount on it that makes it easy to get it in the perfect position for any room or set up. With the 500 watt by 500 watt power module, the sound you will hear with this speaker will be big and warm. The highs are clean and the mids sound just like they should. The lows are very clean and full, the frequency range is 44 Hz to 20 kHz. This bi amped speaker is powered and it has 1 XLR input and 1 XLR output. Moving this speaker from place to place doesn’t seem like it would be too difficult though I have not had to move it myself before though. It only weighs 55 pounds and stands about 15 inches tall, and 23 inches wide. These boxes sound great and if your budget can afford to get them I highly suggest doing so, you will not be disappointed. The space that I heard this speaker in was big enough to seat between 300 and 450 people. The sound was huge and had very good stereo imaging giving a wide and big feel to it. I heard live music coming through this speaker a few times and I can say that anyone could use a speaker like this in their live rig. Question is can they afford it, because quality like this doesn’t come cheap.

    QSC KW152 - Shouldn't cost this much

    by stompboxjon
    11-03-2013 13:04
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=124496" alt="" title="QSC KW152 - Shouldn't cost this much" /></p>The QSC KW 152 is a 1000 watt speaker that has a 15 inch low frequency driver and a 1.75 inch high freq driver. This speaker was a lot heavier than I expected it to be, it weighs around 65 – 70 pounds. It has 2 XLR outputs and 1 XLR combo input and 2 RCA inputs. It can be mounted on a pole/fly. This speaker is a good frequency range (44 Hz to 20 kHz) but sometimes it is hard to tell just how broad it is. When playing a lot of bass heavy music, it seems like the low end frequencies kind of got pushed to the side because they do not stick out the way that I think they should with the specs that this speaker has. The highs and mids sounded great though, and even the bass sounded great on some music, the music that has low frequency baselines. But the kick would still sound pretty good no matter what music it was; it was those baselines that didn't fulfill my needs. This speaker has a very rugged construction and will bring about no issues when traveling with it or getting it in and out of the van. It has a class d power module and handles that make it easy to carry even though it weighed more than I thought it should weigh because I have used Peavey speakers that have the same specs but weigh about 5 to 10 pounds lighter. The QSC KW 152 does have a well balanced sound but for this price (1200 USD) I think any user can get a lot more going with a different similar speaker. You can get the 1000 watts and virtually the same drivers in another speaker for about 150 dollars less than the QSC KW 152 cost so for that reason I do not recommend purchasing this speaker.

    Line 6 StageSource L3t - Skip the L2T and go with the L3T for a bigger sound!

    by stompboxjon
    11-03-2013 12:46
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=142386" alt="" title="Line 6 StageSource L3t - Skip the L2T and go with the L3T for a bigger sound!" /></p>The Line 6 Stage Source L3T is a 1400 watt PA speaker (3 way), it has 2 ten inch low frequency drivers and a 1 inch high frequency driver. Like the L2T it supports the “smart speaker modes” and digital networking. This is basically the more powerful version of the L2t, the sounds are very similar as far as quality but the overall sound on this L3T is so much more powerful and big. This speaker can handle being in a bigger space and even outdoors (in some conditions). The L3T can be pole mounted, or used as a floor wedge. It does weigh almost 60 pounds making it plenty heavier than the L2t. Obviously this one cost more than the L2t but I do recommend getting this speaker over the L2t because the price differences are not that much. Also the frequency range on this speaker is much better being 40 Hz to 19 kHz with a crossover frequency of LF1 at 250 Hz, and LF2 at 2.2 kHz to 7 kHz. This powered monitor has a big enough sound to handle almost any venue that you put it in. I have used a set up before that had a few of these together and it sounded very big. It was actually one of the best systems that I have heard in a long time and we were in an auditorium that held about 800 people but it was still a big space with high ceilings and these still sounded amazing. Like the L2t this monitor has the intelligent system or smart speaker modes. You can use this speaker as a speaker for a live band, or as a PA speaker for someone giving a speech. It sounds great either way and I really enjoy working with these monitors. They work together well and complement each other good too.

    Line 6 StageSource L2t - Quality speaker with great features

    by stompboxjon
    11-03-2013 12:18
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=174338" alt="" title="Line 6 StageSource L2t - Quality speaker with great features" /></p>I have been anticipating the day that I get a chance to work with the L2t from Line 6 StageSource because since it came out I have heard nothing but great things about it. At first I didn’t think the price should have been so high with it only being 800 watts. It is a 2 way powered PA speaker, a feature that is very good one this monitor is the speaker modes (smart speaker modes). There is also a digital mixer on it as well. The smart speaker modes has 6 different speaker modes in it and each one of those modes has EQ features/presets like electric guitar, keyboard backline, floor monitor and personal PA (there are also some more of them). It is very easy to use these modes and have everything ready to go right at your finger tips because all you have to do is activate the switch and you are good to go. This monitor can be pole mounted, but I used it as a floor monitor and even used it as a PA speaker once so far. I do love the way that it sounds with instruments as well. I have heard many live brass instruments through the L2t so far and I can say it sounds amazing. There is also a L6 link digital networking system in this monitor that will create a network of speakers that will automatically configure with no effort. This is not a feature that we had to have but it is a nice plus. If you have a lot of Line 6 Stage gear/systems this is a great feature to have though because it makes everything very easily synced and ready to go with no worrying or configuring on the users part. This speaker is a little bigger than what I expected too, it is not huge but it has some size and weight to it.

    Peavey PV 15M - priced just right

    by stompboxjon
    11-03-2013 12:09
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=92114" alt="" title="Peavey PV 15M - priced just right" /></p>The Peavey PV 15M is a 15 inch floor monitor that delivers a solid sound. I was using this monitor back around 2008 a lot. I feel like this monitor sounds great for the price range that it is in. I do usually prefer JBL monitors though but most of them can really start to get expensive. The PV15M has a 90 by 40 CD Horn and a 14XT compression driver. The total weight of this monitor is not more than 40 pounds making it easy to take around and set it up. It is about 25 inches wide and only 16 inches tall. It has a 1000 watt peak power capacity, and it is very tough and rugged. Out of all of the times that I used this monitor I do not remember it not sounding good at all. Every time I used it, it sounded great and delivered without any problems. It is very easy to daisy chain these monitors together too if needed. There are ¼ inputs (parallel) on the monitor to daisy chain with and I have done this many times and it sounded great. This speaker is not for bigger venues though. That is something to take into consideration before purchasing because if you use it in a bigger space it may not be able to handle it. I have only used it in a space that was pretty big 1 time and it didn’t sound bad but I could tell that it just didn’t have enough power to really project the sound the way it needed to be heard to the audience. The frequency range is 68 Hz to 17 kHz. This monitor is built very well; it has a steel handle and a metal grille to protect the face/speakers on it. It will be able to handle some drops or any of the accidental things that can happen to the gigging musician.

    Yamaha EMX212S - Made for the road

    by sw80
    03-03-2013 13:30
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=50652" alt="" title="Yamaha EMX212S - Made for the road" /></p>Yamaha EMX 212S is a 12 channel powered mixer that is made for the road. The construction of this mixer is heavy duty and will last a long time. There are 16 digital SPX effects on it, echo, chorus, flanger, distortion, reverb, and a few other ones are on it. All of these effects can be added very quickly at the touch of a button. There are EQ’s on the main and monitor channels so you can get the exact sound you want or get out that feedback quickly. There are 12 input channels and 4 for microphone with phantom power. This whole mixer only weighs 22 pounds and is made for use every day. It have used this mixer as well as seen this mixer used for hour upon hours and it has never over heated or shorted out. I have seen it dropped and just about thrown and it has never stopped working. I am pretty sure as long as it doesn’t get wet it will work forever. If it doesn’t Yamaha stands by their products and I am sure they will not have a problem working with you to solve the problem especially with most of their products coming with a warranty automatically. The only thing that I didn’t like about this mixer is the amps and the humming that I would hear. I would not hear this all of the time just sometimes mainly after the mixer and speakers would be on for a long period of time. This could have been the speakers, cords, or any number of issues but it just seemed like the amps in this mixer would start to make the unit “hum” after a while. This didn’t happen often just sometimes and it really was not that big of an issue unless everything was completely silent. Overall, this is a perfect mixer for the road and it is affordable for any budget.

    QSC KW181 - Love it

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 03:40
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=124493" alt="" title="QSC KW181 - Love it" /></p>The QSC KW181 has an amazing sound that blew me away. We have purchase two of these now and have been using it them since November of 2012. They are powered with a driver size of 18 inches. The frequency range is really low and at high volumes the sound is full and rich with no distortion at all. They are also very portable because of the deep built in handles on the size that are made out of solid materials. Being that I run sound shows for many different bands and my own shows it is great to have reliable subs that can handle anything, and in any environment. We did have an accident with these; we dropped one of them one time when taking it through a back do to a stage. But it did nothing to the actual speaker itself accept a little scrap/scratch on the bottom left corner of the woofer which we could almost wipe off. But it did nothing at all to the quality of the sub or the sound. The height of this sub is only about 20 inches and 24 inches wide. It weighs about 90 pounds but does not feel like it weighs more than 80 due to the size and handles. There is no crossover on it but it does have a frequency range of 40 hz to 112 hz. At 1000 watts you will have all of the low end sound you need for your whole show or set up. I recommend getting more than one if you need to and not mix and match it with another woofer because you will be able to tell the difference. This woofer is very deep and clean; if you pair it with another woofer that is not the same one you will be able to tell when you listen from the audience point of few. These are a must have, they are well built and have a great sound/range.!

    Bose B2 - For the Model II or L1 Systems

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 03:32
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=162520" alt="" title="Bose B2 - For the Model II or L1 Systems" /></p>If you are looking for powerful bass, this is the sub you need to get. I have always been a huge fan of all Bose products so it was not an issue for me to spend the money on this one. If you have the Bose L1 model system or even the Model II system then this is the sub you need to go with those set ups. This sub looks great and sounds even better. If you need to get more low end out of it you can easily switch it to the + position and make your bass even deeper for your drums which is mainly what we used it for. You can leave it in the – position for normal modes. This is one of the most powerful subs that Bose has come out with and definitely is for the Model II and L 1 systems. You will get very low frequencies and deep hard hitting bass with this woofer and it is all packed into a woofer that only weighs 45 pounds. This is what Bose does; they make the best possible products using the best possible materials! You will pay for it though because it is not cheap, and nothing from Bose is ever cheap. I have used Bose products for over 15 years and everything they make is very good and has never given me any issues. If you buy from them the customer support is absolutely free and cost you nothing. Someone will be able to assist you on the phone without a problem. I also recommend purchasing directly from them for the best possible customer service, because if any issues arise the place where you purchased it form will most likely tell you to call Bose anyways so you mine as well save your self some time and purchase directly from them and that way you can even get a warranty plan (which I recommend when spending this kind of money).

    Yamaha DSR118w - Comes with a warranty of 5 years!

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 03:24
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=105354" alt="" title="Yamaha DSR118w - Comes with a warranty of 5 years!" /></p>The DSR118W from Yamaha is an 800 watt powered PA sub that has an 18 inch driver. This sub is very portable and easy to carry due to the heavy duty built in handles on the side of the sub. When you purchase this sub you will get an automatic 5 year warranty just in case something with it happens. This sub has 48 bit sound processing and an amazing sound with very low end frequencies. Out of all of the times that I have used this subwoofer in the last year I have not had a single issue or complaint with it. The DSR series from Yamaha is one of the best lines they have come out with because of the people that are behind this line of subs. The engineers really went to work on the DSR line and made a high quality efficient sub that is great for DJ’s and gigging musicians. They do make the DSR subs in different sizes for different sized venues so it will depend on exactly what you need It for to know if you purchase the 118W or another one. But this one has a very clean sound even when turned up to max volumes in larger spaces. This subwoofer is on the heavier size though weighing almost 100 pounds but it is still pretty easy to carry due to the handles and overall shape of the subwoofer. There are 2 XLR inputs and 2 XLR outputs on it with a frequency range of 50 hz to 110 hz. It is only about 20 inches tall and about 2 feet wide making it simple to get into a car with a good sized back seat or trunk space. It also has a crossover frequency of 120 hz. I highly recommend this woofer because of not only the quality and sound but the warranty that comes with it. You do not find many speakers or subs that come with a 5 year warranty!

    Yamaha DXS15 - Distortion at high volumes

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 03:15
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=142490" alt="" title="Yamaha DXS15 - Distortion at high volumes" /></p>The Yamaha DXS15 is a 15 inch 600 watt active sub with a clean sounding low end bass at moderate volumes. If you start to really crank it up you will start to notice a little amount of distortion. It does have a high power class D amplifier and it is simple to add this to your bands set up. I say this is good for a band because if you are a DJ you would not want to rely on the inconsistencies with the low end distortion problems when you are cranking up your music for the club. This is the perfect sub for like a band or a drummer because it is clean and responds well to instruments. The price is very affordable but I still feel like with its ability to deliver deep bass and with all of the power that it has; it should be able to be turned up to high volumes without getting distorted but that was not the case for me. I have recently used this twice at a club that already had it as the main sub. It did not need to bring my own sub in because they already had this set up. I do wish I would have brought my own though because I do not feel like this sub made my sound the best it could possibly be. The frequency range is 45 hz to 160 kHz which is pretty standard for smaller and mid-sized clubs/venues. This club was a mid-sized club that probably only had 350 people in it at that most and when I cranked it up I could definitely hear some distortion in the bass. The bass was very low and deep, it actually sounded great until I went to a very high volume once the dance floor was packed and the energy in the room started to change. Maybe I tried to overdue it too much because I was feeding off of the energy of the room or maybe this sub just cannot handle high volumes. Either way I was not happy and will not be purchasing this sub. I have other subs of my own that cost less and give a clean sound at high volumes all of the time. I am not sure what was going on with the DXS15 from Yamaha.

    Yamaha DXS12 - Perfect for the mobile working DJ

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 03:05
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=142488" alt="" title="Yamaha DXS12 - Perfect for the mobile working DJ" /></p>The Yamaha DXS12 is a 600 watt active subwoofer with a clean sound even at high volumes in mid-sized clubs and venues. I have worked with this sub on about 15 different occasions and the thing about it that fascinates me is that for this price you do not expect to get a woofer that you crank up the volume and still get a very low bass with no distortion at all. This sub provides very deep bass and I recommend it to all DJ’s that play house and dance music mainly because it sounds great with those bass types. It is even great for school systems and church systems as just the main sub. The low end sound is very full, deep and rich. When it comes to getting a quality sub like this one you will need to take into consideration what style of music or what exactly will it be used for most of the time. The DXS12 is good for just about anything though, that is why you cannot go wrong with purchasing it. It even has a built in XSub which will let you extend the frequency to an even lower response if you want to. This sub is very portable and only weighs around 70 pounds at the most. It has 2 XLR inputs and 2 XLR outputs with wood enclosure and no mounting, it will be need to be a floor sub which for this style of sub is just fine. It delivers a peak power of 950 watts with around 600 watts continuous. You cannot daisy chain these together so if you are looking to add more in the future you might want to pick a different sub to purchase. This sub is not very big and can fit in a regular sized car without any problems. It is perfect for the mobile working DJ!

    Yamaha SW118V - Small shows

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 02:57
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=30873" alt="" title="Yamaha SW118V - Small shows" /></p>The Yamaha SW118V is a 18 inch Passive Subwoofer, and a lot of the time when I am doing a smaller show as a DJ I will just take this. This was my “Go To” sub for smaller birthday parties and banquets manly because it was very light and easy to take with me. I would not take this to a larger space because it just does have enough power for those venues. This sub is also very affordable only costing a few hundred dollars and it will hold up well because it is durable. This was one of my favorite subs to take for birthday parties because you want to play uplifting music like dance music. For that style of music with the kind of bass that it uses, this subwoofer was perfect for that. This cabinet is perfectly design to give you the best possible sounding bass (for the price) and all in a smaller sized cabinet that is easy to take with you anywhere. It has an 18 inch cast frame driver and a frequency response as low as 30 Hz (not the best, but it is great for the price). This sub has no outputs but it has 2 ¼ inputs and cannot be mounted, it is a floor sub only but that is ok because if you are in a smaller space it will not matter anyways. The maximum power you will get with it is somewhere around 1200 watts which is pretty solid for the price. Out of all of the times that I have used this subwoofer it has yet to fail me or have any type of a malfunction. It is very reliable and built well. Yamaha has always provided this type of subs that work great for a good price. I prefer these subs from Yamaha over the higher end ones because of the quality and price. The higher end Yamaha subs start to get really expensive!

    JBL EON 518S - For the gigging musician

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 02:47
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=85515" alt="" title="JBL EON 518S - For the gigging musician" /></p>The EON518S delivers great sounding bass out of its Class D power amp. It has a switchable high pass filter and 500 watts of power. This subwoofer is very portable and it really is not that big at all. The EON series of speakers from JBL are very reliable but they are not my favorite ones that they have come out with mainly because at high volumes they do not sound as good. But these are the more affordable subs from JBL so you will not get the best sound that you would on the higher end ones. This sub can be pole mounted or used as a main on the floor. It has plenty of headroom and sounds great in a smaller sized space. On music with a lot of lower tones and pulsating bass it will sound great. I have been using this sub for over a year now and I love using it for smaller spaces because it is a lot easier to transport than my main woofers. That was the main reason that I purchased this in the first place. I did not want to take my main woofers out all of the time just for smaller venues and smaller spaces. I can easily get this in and out of my truck with my other speakers and get it inside the club. This is the perfect woofer for a gigging musician who does not have a crew with him to help with gear. You will be able to take this woofer with you wherever you need to be at and do it all yourself without having to worry about lugging around a lot of weight. If you want more power you can easily daisy chain these together, so that later one if you grow you will not have to repurchase another woofer. This is a must have for a solo gigging musician with limited space and help!

    JBL JRX118S - Go JBL!

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 02:37
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=25930" alt="" title="JBL JRX118S - Go JBL!" /></p>The JBL JRX 118S is a passive subwoofer that has a clean sound in almost any room size. I would crank this subwoofer up in many different spaces and would get zero distortion or muddy sounding bass. This is the subwoofer line from JBL that originally made me fall in love with their subs in the first place, the JRX line of subs was a way to get a great sounding bass without having to spend a ton of money on a subwoofer. That was back in companies like Mackie where overcharging for quality subwoofers and it was hard to find one that was good without breaking your whole budget on one. These subs are built to take a beating; I still own mine and though I do not use it anymore I will never get rid of it because it symbolized how hard I use to have to work. I would take this sub with me everywhere when I was first starting out as a DJ and stage manager for other bands that needed me. The sound of this sub is very clean, the low tones are full and rich and when you use it with some good speakers it will just complete the sound and work for any style of music. This woofer has never given a single issue. After using it for all of those years, it never had a single problem and that is generally what you get with JBL. You will get a good quality piece of gear from them all of the time. This JRX118S is the reason that I have purchased so many other woofers from JBL. You can get 1400 watts of peak power out of this woofer and 350 at continuous use. I am very happy that I purchased this woofer years ago, and I am even happier that I didn’t get rid of it and still own it!

    JBL PRX618S - Just get the Pro model!

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 02:29
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=110439" alt="" title="JBL PRX618S - Just get the Pro model!" /></p>The JBL PRX618S is an active 18 inch sub that only has 600 watts. The frequency response is 41 Hz to 130 Hz but it does not sound like the range is that low. Most of your really low bass tones will not be heard in this woofer. I personally just think it is because there is not enough power behind it to drive the really low end sounds. If you are going to pay 1000 dollars for this sub you mine as well save a little more and upgrade to the “Pro” model which cost a few hundred dollars more but it is well worth the extra money spend considering the sound that you will get and you will get more power out of it. This woofer has a 36mm pole mount insert and metal handles for carrying it. It does still weight 70 pounds which is almost as much as the Pro model is. This sub does seem to be pretty durable though, if used as a floor sub it will not slide on you because it has rubber grips on the bottom which come in handy because when subs start booming they can slide on a hard slick surface. The sound quality of this amp is good, the lows are clean but it does not reach the very low tones like the Pro model. I do not recommend getting this; unless you cannot not afford to pay the extra money for the Pro model. To me this woofer is really a waste of time considering how great the next version up is. This is the type of subwoofer that is great for small venues but in a larger venue the bass will not be present because it cannot handle a larger space. But if you get the Pro model it will sound great in a smaller space and even a larger space or outdoors.

    JBL PRX618S-XLF - I now have two of them!

    by JimboSpins
    01-24-2013 02:18
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=110438" alt="" title="JBL PRX618S-XLF - I now have two of them!" /></p>The JBL Pro PRX 618S is a 1,000 watt active subwoofer that has a really low response. Anyone who needs to have that really low bass for their show; this is the sub to get. It sounds great in small and larger spaces and when paired with the right speaker cabinets it gives an all around complete sound that is very full and rich. The woofer is 18 inches which was bigger than the woofer that I was using before it, I was not sure how much the size would matter because in most situations when I comes to a woofer a few inches will not make that much of a difference. So it was not the size of this woofer that makes me love it, it is the frequency range and how it handles the low bass. This sub weighs around 80 pounds which is not bad considering it is an 18 inch and sounds great. It has 2 XLR outputs and 2 XLR or ¼ inputs. It is self powered and can be mounted on a pole. Most of the artist that I know that recommended me get this subwoofer told me they think it sounds better on a pole so that is the way that we have used it the most. The price of this speaker was a little on the high side but if you want a great sound you will have to pay for it. I made my original purchase of the JBL PRX618S in 2011 and since then I have purchased another one. These are now being used as our main subs for most of the shows that we run. This sub is truly one of the best on the market, and compared to high end subs the price really isn’t that bad. This sub is a must have for anyone who is a live performer or runs the audio set ups for clubs and venues.

    Bose T1 ToneMatch - The EQ is perfect

    by JimboSpins
    01-22-2013 14:30
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=110493" alt="" title="Bose T1 ToneMatch - The EQ is perfect" /></p>The Bose T1 ToneMatch is a 4 channel mixer with 3 microphone inputs, 1 stereo channel and over 100 presets built into it. After about a weeks worth of learning the unit in full, I started to mess with some of the effects and man there are some good ones on here. This unit is very easy to use and understanding it will not take long at all. It only took me a while just because I didn’t have time to sit down all at once and learn everything about it. It does come with the manual, but it is not that big of a book and you really don’t need it. This is the type of mixer that you just need to dive in head first and start messing with it if you want to learn how it works.

    QSC K10 - Loving the sound, buy it

    by JimboSpins
    01-21-2013 14:59
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=100380" alt="" title="QSC K10 - Loving the sound, buy it" /></p>The QSC K10 have been a part of my gear since August of last year and I have used them on a large number of different artist, bands, and DJ’s. I have not had a single complaint with them yet and even when I use them with my band we all love the sound we get with them. I love what they do for vocals though; they can really pump out a natural sound. This speaker does have a high pass filter which is what will be used when you have it hooked up with woofers. But when that is being used, it could take some time to get use to the sound because it will change the dynamics of your overall sound. The speakers are pretty light, they weight about 30 pounds but they are tall so it could cause some problems with transporting it depending on what kind of car you have. It never really was an issue with us because we use a van with double back doors to take all of the gear out of. The frequency range is 56Hz to 20 kHz and I really feel that with a subwoofer this speaker is perfect. It just takes some time to get use to the sound as a performer because it sounds completely different with a high pass on and a sub hooked in with it. The LF driver size is only 10 inches and the HF driver size is 1.75. The highs sound really good and they are clean. With vocals you will feel like you are listening to a 3000 dollar speaker! I have not heard any acoustic guitars with these yet. That is something that I am really excited about and cannot wait to test them out. There are also inputs XLR and TRS on this speaker with 2 XLR direct lines out. This 500W class D speaker has the sound that any performer needs!

    Mackie HDA - Good but not for me

    by JimboSpins
    01-21-2013 14:40
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=104718" alt="" title="Mackie HDA - Good but not for me" /></p>The Mackie HAD is a 12 inch 2 way powered speaker that delivers 600 watts of power and has some onboard limiting. These speakers are pretty portable and easy to move around. It has 1 XLR input and dual compression drivers (1.7”). This speaker is made for live applications and not studio use, using it in the studio will not give you the sound you expect it to have because I have tried it in a studio twice and was not pleased with it. But live it has a very nice sound; it is pretty big if you keep it in a smaller venue. In a medium to larger size club it will have too much space for it to cover and it just is not powerful enough to handle it. The total weight of it is about 60 pounds which makes it very portable, but for that much weight and at this price you would expect to get a bigger sound or more watts. That is the only downside of this speaker. Everything is great with it except the overall power which for me was probably the most important aspect. I do recommend this speaker if you tend to only be around smaller venues. But if not; it really isn’t worth getting this because in a bigger space it will have no value to you anymore. The crossover frequency is 2Hz and the range is 57Hz to 20 kHz but there just isn’t enough power behind it. The overall sound is clean when in a smaller space, the bass is not as expressive as I would have liked it to be but depending on which style of music you are working with it could be just fine the way it is. If your music tends to have a little more thump to it, then I do not recommend the HAD because there isn’t enough low end to give you the sound you might be looking for.

    Mackie HD1531 - Clean sounding, but heavy!

    by JimboSpins
    01-21-2013 14:28
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=89750" alt="" title="Mackie HD1531 - Clean sounding, but heavy!" /></p>The Mackie HD1531 has more of a stylish and sleeker look to it than most speakers do. It also provides a lot of power with 1800 watts and a 15 inch woofer. I love the sound of acoustic guitars coming through these monitors. I have been using them for about 6 months and that is really the only reason that I have kept them is because of how great acoustic guitars and bass guitars sound coming through them. There is just no way I can get rid of these no knowing how great it sounds. There is an adjustable 3 band EQ on it that is easy to operate and get your sound just the way you want it to be. There are no effects on this unit but that is not a huge issue because you can get your effects from other gear. The design of the HD1531 is what visually sticks out about it; there are not many speakers for live applications that are appealing to the eye. Most of them are simple and always look the same but this one has a different style too it and it looks more up to date. So if the look of your live speaker is important than this one will seal the deal for you and your band. The highs and mids are clean, without being too brutal but they can still get loud and be heard clearly. The lows are warm and made for live applications. This is not the type of speaker to have in the studio because it really does add extra coloring to your sound. It is specially designed to give you that “live” sound and feel that every band loves. It is not extremely portable weighing almost a hundred pounds. So that is something you might want to think about before you get it. It will give you a back ache!

    Mackie DLM12 - Flat out awesome

    by JimboSpins
    01-21-2013 14:21
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=160197" alt="" title="Mackie DLM12 - Flat out awesome" /></p>The Mackie DLM12 has a 12 inch LF driver and a 1.5 high frequency driver. There are 16 effects built right into this speaker with a 2 channel mixer. That is why this speaker cost so much, but the features make it well worth the money. You will also get 2,000 watts of power for your set up with this speaker. Traveling around with the DLM12 could not be easy because of the size, it is not a very big speaker but it does have some weight to it. But no matter what style of car or van you drive you will be able to get this in and out without a problem. The size of it has nothing to do with the power though because this speaker packs a huge sound. You can even use this speaker in some bigger venues and even outdoors because of how much power it has behind it. The effects was a huge surprise for me because I didn’t expect to get very many good effects with this speaker, once I heard it had effects I thought it was only going to be a couple and they were going to be really basic and simple but that was not the case. The effects are very good and I love the delays. This is the perfect speaker to have for a gigging musician who travels a lot and plays at a bunch of different types of venues. This speaker will do a great job with all of them, no matter the size. The actual weight of this speaker might not seem like much, but you have to take into consideration that it is a smaller speaker so all of the weight is in one spot and not distributed out like it would be on a “taller” speaker. But it is still pretty easy to transport, you can wall mount it or pole mount it if you want to but we have just used it as a floor speaker. I give this speaker huge thumbs up for its sound and portability.

    Mackie SRM450v2 - They may be better than the EON by JBL

    by JimboSpins
    01-21-2013 14:13
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=80226" alt="" title="Mackie SRM450v2 - They may be better than the EON by JBL" /></p>The Mackie SRM450v2 is a 400 watt active live speaker (2 way). It has Class D amplification and it is pretty light/portable. This speaker is pole mountable and floor wedge-able. The main reason that I even came across this speaker was because it was very similar to the JBL EON series of speakers that was actually out before this one. This got recommended to me by a fellow band member once I said that I was thinking about getting rid of my JBL’s because of the weight of them. After I got my hands on these I realized that the sound was much better than the JBL’s which surprised me because I am a huge JBL fan. But the price was also a little more as well. The sound with these live speakers is great, you will get a crystal clear sound with no effort at all and they even have a pass thru connector and microphone input directly on the unit. I have had this speaker for almost 2 years now and I still use it a lot depending on where we are going to be. The LF driver size is 12 inches in this powered speaker and it is great for live and studio applications. When comparing these to the JBL EON’s you will notice that the sound is actually better and they are a little lighter but when it comes to quality I still think the JBL’s are built better and come with a better price tag. The frequency range is 45Hz to 20Hz on the SRM450’s. I have not had any bad experiences with these speakers and I don’t think that I ever will. I have only heard great things about them and I plan on having them in my gear room for years to come without having to purchase new ones. But if I needed to purchase some new ones I would quickly and probably before I would purchase the JBL EON’s.

    JBL EON 305 - Not a huge fan of the bass but everything else was good.

    by JimboSpins
    01-20-2013 15:36
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=85512" alt="" title="JBL EON 305 - Not a huge fan of the bass but everything else was good." /></p>The JBL EON305 is a 2 way passive speaker that is very portable. The price is ok, but maybe it is just a little overpriced compared to some of the other JBL speakers that have come out around the same time this one did. This speaker will give you a peak performance at 1000 watts and continuously at 250 watts. On the back there are ¼ input connectors and a “loop thru” system for easy connection with more speakers. The frequency range is 38 Hz to 20 Khz and I feel like it handles mid range and high frequencies very good. I am not completely sold on the low end frequencies though because some music sounds better than others with these speakers. It will all come down to how you like your bass to sound; we had these for a show with an electronic live band that had a lot of pulsating and wobbling bass lines. Though the music was slow, the bass was still pretty thick and needed to pump out heavy so the crowd could feel it When we rehearsed with these speakers in a smaller room they sounded amazing. Then come club time I just don’t feel like they performed the way that they should have for the price that they cost. This speaker came out years ago; we just purchased it about 10 months ago after trading in some other gear. One great thing about this speaker is loading and unloading it. It is very light and easy to maneuver with. The sound is very clear though and that is always a plus. We will not be using these as our main speakers though just because of the inconsistency bass problems we are experiencing. The EON 1500’s are very good too, they are actually a lot better than these 305’s. They cost more but they are well worth it!

    Behringer Eurolive VS1220 - Good sound at a GREAT price!

    by JimboSpins
    01-20-2013 15:26
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=123374" alt="" title="Behringer Eurolive VS1220 - Good sound at a GREAT price!" /></p>The EuroLive VS1220 is a 600 watt 12 inch PA Speaker with a great sound for this price. These speakers only cost about a hundred bucks a piece and will give you a very clean sound. These are a great speaker to get if you are in the market to purchase your first PA speaker because of the quality and price. I have used many of the “EuroLive” speakers from Behringer and I am a fan of all of them because they keep them affordable and the sound quality is solid. For this speaker to be the price that it is, I did not expect the low end to have this kind of bass! It has the low end sound of a 1000 dollar PA speaker. Plus the highs are very clear and concise without being to sharp or piercing. I was very shocked when I first heard music from the VS1220, it sounded very big and wide in a pretty good sized club. These speakers are also made well and lightweight. I do not own them anymore because they didn’t have enough power for use to want to keep them but a few bands that I use to work with would rent these from me all of the time and they loved gigging with them. For the price you will not find anything better on the market, and if you want to spend some more money look into Behringers higher end EuroLive series PA speakers. They have some really good ones that cost more than the VS1220 does but they are still affordable and provide an even better sound. The peak power of these is only 600 watts which is pretty much the reason I didn’t keep them because I just never used them. The frequency response is also good for the price. They weigh about 40 pounds but it doesn’t feel like it because of the way the weight is distributed and the handles being built in; they are pretty easy to move around.

    JBL PRX625 - They may overheat, but they sound perfect!

    by JimboSpins
    01-20-2013 15:15
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=110441" alt="" title="JBL PRX625 - They may overheat, but they sound perfect!" /></p>The JBL PRX625 is a dual 15 inch speaker system (active) that has a pretty high price tag on it compared to other brands with the same specs. The difference is that this is a JBL speaker and you will be paying for quality, and quality you will get! These speakers are beautifully made and are easy to carry due to the built in handles on the side of the speakers. The outer shell of the speakers is made with more of a shiny finish and it will not scratch easy. The JBL PRX625 has a D class Crown digital amplifier with 1500 watts of power. It has XLR line input and a ¼ microphones or instrument input on it as well. I purchase these speakers back in 2011 and I have used them a lot of times since then. These are some of my main speakers that get used the most. One issue that does happen with these speakers is that they have a tendency to “overheat”. If they over heat a lot it can cause serious damage to your speakers so purchasing a protection plan from your vendor will be a great investment. If they do over heat sometimes it is due to a cable that is having a polarity issue. That was the issue we had and after we switched cables it never happened again. But I have heard stories from other users that have had major overheating issues that damaged the speaker permanently. The sound of these speakers is great, they have a lot of bass and they hit pretty hard in the club which fits perfectly into the style of music that I work with. I currently use these in smaller to medium sized clubs about 5 times a month. Every since that cable got switched the overheating issue got resolved and now they have no issues and an amazing sound.
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!