• Drums User Reviews RSS Feed


  • Content by Audiofanzine

    Peavey International Series II - Best drum set ever!!!!!

    by pyromaniac727
    09-03-2014 07:41
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=3686" alt="" title="Peavey International Series II - Best drum set ever!!!!!" /></p>This is an amazing drum set for beginner-intermediate drummers. The drums sound great and the hardware is good also. I really think people underrate basswood drums because these drums sound awesome. The only thing that I would change is to get rid of the stock heads and cymbals and get new ones. Other than that it is a great set!

    Peavey International Series II - Awesome drum set

    by pyromaniac777
    05-03-2014 06:11
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=3686" alt="" title="Peavey International Series II - Awesome drum set" /></p>Personally, I think this is one of the best sounding beginner drum sets out there.The basswood that is made of gives it a very full, satisfying sound. The hardware and the cymbals that come with it aren't the best, but the get the job done. I would recommend getting a new hi-hat stand and bass drum pedal as soon as you can though. Also, the heads that come with the drum set don't sound very good, so upgrade those soon as well. Overall, this is a very good beginner drum set.

    Yamaha Maple Custom - best drums on the planet.

    by allan.norris.5
    08-08-2013 07:23
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=6453" alt="" title="Yamaha Maple Custom - best drums on the planet." /></p>I bought my 11 pcs, Yamaha Maple Customs in Brampton Ontario Canada 8"10"12"13"14"15"16"18" and 2x22" and the manu catchi snare, they are by FAR the best drums on the planet, I was the very first to buy the complete kit, and Yamaha Canada gave me a coat and a photo shoot. I will be berried in them when I die.

    Alesis ControlPad - Functional and Inexpensive

    by tarrtime
    07-03-2013 02:43
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=102270" alt="" title="Alesis ControlPad - Functional and Inexpensive" /></p>The Alesis Control Pad is e-drum product that contains six rubber pads, and also allows for the input of other trigger pads. The Control Pad converts the triggers into MIDI information and outputs the MIDI. The Control Pad does not contain any sounds of its own. Alesis makes a Performance Pad if you are concerned about having internal sounds. My recommendation though if you are going to use e-drum pads is to make use of software drum libraries (BFD2, Superior Drummer 2, Steven Slate Drums 4, etc.) rather than used built it sound from a drum module or pad. The sounds in a module or pad are typically not very good compared to multi-sampled drum libraries. The Control Pad is perfect for this because it just triggers MIDI. I use the Alesis Control Pad as the "ride" cymbal in my e-drum kit. I like being able to trigger the 'bell', 'edge', and main portion of the ride cymbal. Typical e-drum cymbal pads cost a lot of money if you want to have 3 zones, and don't really feel much more realistic than this Control Pad. Additionally, I can use the extra zones on the Control Pad for percussion and other cymbals. Try to do that with a 3 zone rubber e-cymbal pad. All in all, I have been very happy with the Control Pad. I would definitely purchase it again if it broke or was lost/stolen. It is a little unconventional to use it as a "ride" cymbal, but I would recommend considering it instead of spending more money on a different e-cymbal.

    Roland TD3 - Perfect e-drum setup for apartment

    by tarrtime
    07-03-2013 02:18
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=150611" alt="" title="Roland TD3 - Perfect e-drum setup for apartment" /></p>I purchased the Roland TD-3 drum kit to be used in my apartment to practice drums without annoying my neighbors. Eventually I started using it to record MIDI drums in Pro Tools. The TD-3 is perfect for this kind of application. It isn't as fancy as the more expensive Roland E-Drums, but it is reliable and functions appropriately. The cymbals are the least realistic thing about playing the TD-3 compared to acoustic drums/cymbals. I think this is the hardest thing for e-drums to get right mainly because rubber feels much more different than metal. I don't mind rubber pads for drums, but having rubber cymbals is a little weird. Nonetheless, the drum pads and the cymbal pads trigger very well. They just don't feel that great. It is a sacrifice you have to make for quiet drums. The hi-hat pedal also takes a little getting used to. Since I have had the kit, I have purchased a couple of Hart Dynamics drum pads to supplement my TD-3. These triggers are much more realistic to the look and feel of acoustic drums. They actually work very well with the TD-3 drum module. This was a big advantage to the roland e-drum kits. I definitely like being able to expand my kit as I save up the money. Eventually I plan on adding better cymbals and hi-hats too.

    Roland TD-3 Module - Great e-drum trigger converter

    by tarrtime
    07-03-2013 02:07
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=24068" alt="" title="Roland TD-3 Module - Great e-drum trigger converter" /></p>I purchased the Roland TD-3 module as part of the TD-3 e-drum kit. I have been really happy with out the module has working for the past several years. In my set up, I have e-drum trigger pads that go into the TD-3. Then I use the module to turn the trigger information into MIDI notes. I use the MIDI out from the TD-3 to go into my DAW interface to record my drum performances. It took a while to get the module set up to trigger correctly with the pads. Things like pad sensitivity and threshold need to be set based on how hard the drummer hits the pads. The TD-3 is not the most intuitive interface for making this changes. I had to look through the manual to figure out how it works. Since then, I haven't had any problems with incorrect triggering or cross-talk or anything. My opinion is that the drum sample sounds in the TD-3 are unusable. They basically suffer from the "machine gun" effect where every drum it sounds the same. This makes the drums sound fake. My recommendation would be to use e-drums to trigger a drum sampler on a computer (superior drummer, BFD2, Steven Slate Drums 4, addictive drums, NI Studio Drummer, etc.) rather than using a drum module. This way you will have a much better sounding drum performance than using the stock sounds in the TD-3. The TD-3 has lasted me for many years, and I fully expect it to last for many more years. It is made of plastic which does seem to be a little less reliable that a solid metal chassis. Nonetheless, if you take good care of it, I doubt that it will break.

    Zildjian A Custom Crash 14'' - Brilliant Cymbals

    by tarrtime
    04-02-2013 21:44
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=18537" alt="" title="Zildjian A Custom Crash 14'' - Brilliant Cymbals" /></p>I own a full set of Zildjian A Custom cymbals. I have a 14", 16", 18", and 19". These are the perfect cymbals for pop or rock music. I don't really play much jazz, so I can't really tell you how well they sound for that style of music. These cymbals sound bright and clear, which is better for pop and rock than for any styles of music that require a more dry sound. On the other hand, if you play metal, you probably want to consider cymbals that sound more thrashy. These are clear sounding cymbals. These cymbals can definitely cut through a mix, either in a loud live gig, or in the recording studio. I find that they sound best even if you don't hit them too hard. The initial 'hit' or transient of the cymbal is crisp and the sustain is very musical. The overtones of these cymbals sound beautiful. The sustain is not too long either, preventing a mix from being "washed out" by too much cymbal sustain. I would definitely buy these cymbals again if something happened to them. I originally started out them 2 crashes (18" and 16") and decided I loved them so much I better get a few more. I use K hi-hits, instead of A Custom. But for crashes and rides, I love the A Customs. I also specially purchased the A Custom 'Fast Crash' cymbals because I like the overtones of the sustain better than the regular A Customs. This is just something to consider when looking at the full range of A Customs. These cymbals really are of the highest quality. If you take good care of them, they should last for a very long time, and even improve their sound the more you play them. Compared to the regular Zildjian A series cymbals, the A Customs have a better sustain/overtones and a much smoother initial crash. I find the the regular A series cymbals are very harsh when you initially hit them. I suppose this would work better for certain styles of music, but it is just not for me.

    Zildjian A Custom Medium Ride 22&quot; - Very Musical Cymbal

    by tarrtime
    01-02-2013 23:01
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=17041" alt="" title="Zildjian A Custom Medium Ride 22&quot; - Very Musical Cymbal" /></p>The Zildjian A Custom Medium Ride is a fantastic cymbal for pop/rock music. It sounds great, looks amazing, and is built with top-quality craftsman shift. The sound is clear and bright. If you want a darker sound, the K series is the way to go. The A Custom Series is best if you want your cymbals to shine and crisp when they project. The overtones of this cymbal are very musical and resonate with a pleasing consonance. The bell is sharp but not overbearing or piercing. The main part of the ride is smooth and distinct (not too pingy, and not too dry). Even the edge of the cymbal sounds good for loud crashes. Not many cymbals have all three articulations (bell, mid, edge) that sound great. This cymbal is well balanced in that respect. This cymbal is awesome for recording. It doesn't drown out a mix, but it does cut through very well. Depending on if you use drums stick with a wooden tip or with a plastic tip you can get very different sounds with this ride cymbal. If you use the plastic tip, there is a nice 'ping'. If you use the wooden tip, the subtle is not a sharp. This alone can make this cymbal very versatile ranging from a loud, bright sound to a more dull, dark sound. For pop/rock music this cymbal is about as good as it gets. Obviously for jazz or heavy metal there are other cymbals that would be better suited for different styles of music. This cymbal is exactly the sound of 'radio' pop or even country drumming. The sustain does not 'wash' out the drum kit and does not build up to an excessive amount. The best part about this cymbal is that I think it sounds better now after years of playing than it did when I first bought it!

    Zildjian K HiHat Pair 14" - My Favorite HiHats

    by tarrtime
    02-27-2013 20:54
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=18613" alt="" title="Zildjian K HiHat Pair 14" - My Favorite HiHats" /></p>I purchased these hihats back in 2008. I picked up the 14" K Hi-hat pair and immediately fell in love with them. Their sound is perfect for so many different styles of music from pop/rock to blues/jazz to funk or anything. What I like about them is that the decay is smooth and not over-powering. Some other hi-hat cymbals can 'wash' or sustain for too long and muddy up a tight drum performance. These cymbals are clear. They sound dark and crisp, but not dull. They are a little bit pricey compared to other zildjian cymbals, but I have never regretted the purchase. The Zildjian A and A Custom hi-hats are much brighter than the K series. I use A Custom crash cymbals, but found that having the K hi-hats contrasts the sound of the A Custom crashes in order to hear a clear distinction between the different cymbal types. I have seen many people use a K series top to the hi-hat and a Z series bottom hi-hat. Initially when I was looking at cymbals I thought I was going to pair the K/Z cymbals in this manner. However, I found that this combination was suitable for 'rock' styles of music, but was too harsh for anything else. Therefore, I decided to get both the top and bottom in the K series. I was really glad that I did this because they sound amazing for all styles of music. I have used these cymbals for recording and also for live performance. They are great in both situations. They sound very detailed on a recording. The all important "chick" sound cuts through a mix. The closed sound of the hi-hats is tight and focused, while the open or semi-open sound has a musical ring. These cymbals are high quality and can with-stand years of playing. In fact, I think they sound better now after years of sessions and gigs than they did when I purchased them. The most important thing is to take good care of them, and they will return the favor to you.

    Roland TD-30K

    by Azuma
    02-26-2013 00:28
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=142305" alt="" title="Roland TD-30K" /></p>What I like most about these drums is how powerful and high quality they really are. I must mention that these drum set are as close as you can get to the real one , the hi-hat , the great snare , everything sounds as good as it gets. The pads are extremely sensitive and they work combined very good and you have a lot of editing presets and windows to choose from. Another amazing feature of this product it that is has a double pedal support , so that way you have a bass pedal included as well. My opinion about the value of price is not so good , mainly because this is one of the most expensive drum sets I have ever had to deal with , the price is about 5000 $ , however thinking not only about the money , you get a lot of natural "tricks" that you can use in your grooves like a very expressive play for crashed and rides , good sensitivity on kicks hi hats and snares , and of course the quality of these sounds is extremely natural and plesant. Precision and quality of the sound is outstanding , I haven't ever heard some digital drum set that sound as close to the acoustic one as this product , quality , precision , velocity , V effects , everything is very very good. I've tried several models before this , however none of them costs as much as these , but there's a big difference between a cheap drum set and basically one of the most amazing drum sets out there. Knowing what I know , I do think I would get this product if I would own the money and I would need something that is compact, light weight , sounds great , is very pro and has a usb connection to the computer.

    Tama Imperialstar IM52KH6 Stage 22" - Black - Great to practice with

    by sw80
    01-30-2013 12:17
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=179148" alt="" title="Tama Imperialstar IM52KH6 Stage 22" - Black - Great to practice with" /></p>I had the black version of the Imperialstar but you can also purchase it in Red and Blue. I used it for about 3 months and the reason that I purchase this set was just to have a set of drums at home that I could practice with. The tone of these drums is amazing, it is nice and warm and for this price I didn’t expect to get that. This is a complete system that comes with everything you need to work with it right way. It did require some assembly when it arrived at my doorstep which was long, extensive and gave me a headache putting everything together. It comes with the hi hats, crash and cymbals too but of course nothing was put together on the stands. So it took me some time to get it all together but it was worth the headache. The finish on the drums is all black which was fine for me because I am not a fanatic when it comes to color on drums especially since they were going to be my practice set. The kick pedal feels great, Tama has always made some really good kick pedals that come with their basic kits. The bass drum is 18 x 22 with the floor tom being 14 x16 and two mounted tomes 8 x10 and 9 x 12. The snare drum is a standard 5 x 14 and sounds great for it to be this cheaply priced. For a practice set, it had everything that I needed and the sound was incredible. I would not suggest getting this set if you are going to be recording your drum tracks with it though because I do not feel like it is that good to put out some master songs with. But if you want to invest a little more look into some of the higher end Tama kits. They are really good!

    PDP Pacific Drums and Percussion MX-R - Quality Mid-level drums

    by tarrtime
    12-27-2012 21:46
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=62373" alt="" title="PDP Pacific Drums and Percussion MX-R - Quality Mid-level drums" /></p>The PDP Pacific Mx drum set is an intermediate level kit for the experienced drummer. The maple wood is a huge improvement over entry-level drum sets. The sound quality is significantly better than anything you can buy for under $500. Granted, there are a lot better drum sets you can buy for over $1000, but are more appropriate for professional drummers. The Mx series is adequate for experienced players to be used for practice or for gigs where you wouldn't want to risk beer being spilled on $2000 drums. If you keep new heads on these drums, they can sound decent. I recommend swapping out the hardware because the official DW hardware isn't ridiculously expensive, but is much more durable than the PDP hardware. The kick pedal is particularly low quality, and probably worse than any other pedal you could replace it with for $50. The hi-hat stand is has some decent features like rotating legs. However, I would not feel comfortable touring or even gigging for fear of it breaking. I also recommend purchasing a better snare drum at some point. The snare alone can make all the difference for the sound of a drum set. If you are eyeing a more expensive drum kit, but are hesitant about spending all the money, get the Mx and a sweet snare drum. It is the way to go. I have used these drums on many recordings over the past several years. I typically play pop/rock styles of music. These drums are perfect for these styles because they have a strong and hard attack, but also a nice tone to the sustain. I don't feel like this drums would be good for soft or delicate music like jazz. I suppose with the right drum heads, tuning, and playing style that decent results could be achieved. However, the 22' bass drum that came with my kit produces some serious punch. I would definitely recommend a smaller size kick drum if you want to play something other than rock music.

    Hart Dynamics Snare Pro - High Quality e-drum

    by tarrtime
    10-12-2012 01:47
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=21062" alt="" title="Hart Dynamics Snare Pro - High Quality e-drum" /></p>The Hart Dynamics snare trigger is an e-drum that can be used with many percussion sound modules. I have a TD-3, and I haven't had any problems with it. Check the Hart Dynamics website for compatibility if you are seriously considering a purchase. The best part about the product is that has solid construction. I get the impression that it is going to last a very long time, unless something weird with the triggering mechanism malfunctions. The drum itself seems extremely solid, even more than the expensive roland triggers, and definitely more than any cheap rubber pad. I like the look of the real metal drum shell much better than anything from roland, yamaha, etc. I have the stock mesh head still installed, and it has been pretty durable. I play the drum a couple of times a week in a smoke-free studio. I can't see replacing the mesh head for a while. One thing I found a little different about this drum is that the trigger contacts the mesh head from underneath. The trigger is a little bit larger than the size of a quarter. When I hit the mesh head directly above the trigger, it seems to register a 'harder hit' than when I hit the mesh head at the same velocity next to the trigger. If you look on the Hart Dynamics webpage, they have recommendations for programming your percussion sound module to get the best results with this drum trigger. I followed their recommended settings, but actually had mixed results. I found that I was getting occasional retriggering after snare hits and even cross-talk when hitting other drums on my kit. I had to bump up the threshold a little bit from their recommended settings, which solved all the problems. All in all, a great product especially if you want your e-drums to look like the real thing. The 13" size is also great compared to smaller pads. I have a lot of drums come into my studio that are only used to playing real drums. For a while, I only had Roland pads, which they didn't like. Now with the Hart Dynamics drums, I get much fewer complaints about how different the transition to e-drums for acoustic drums is. Plus, as soon as these guys hear the sounds (BFD2, SSD4, SD2, Addictive Drums, NI Studio Drummer) of the drums they are triggering, they immediately get over the problem.

    Alesis DM10 Studio Kit

    by BeyondR
    11-30-2012 04:50
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=101169" alt="" title="Alesis DM10 Studio Kit" /></p>What I like most about this product is the feel, the touch, how great and natural Alesis made this product. This great product has the ability to give life to your drum patterns which is so important if you make pop rock songs or you can even put a different spin making some jazz or hip-hop composition. The drum hoops are triple flanged steel and tension adjustable. I also do like that crash symbol can be muted just like in some acoustic drums. The value of price is great, you can't really buy something greater for this price, this is one of the most quality products out there that costs around 800$. Precision and quality of sounds is pretty wow , some don't really like the snare sound, however I do think that this products combines great an electronic kit with an acoustic one. The pads are tight and solid which is something very important , however there are some issues regarding the clamps , but it's a matter of choice. I have tried some other drum machines out there, one of it is Roland which is like the king in drum machines , this product isn't much lower in terms of quality than the Roland drum machines. Without a doubt, the sound provided by this product is exactly what we musicians need, high-quality and fast and without a doubt easy to use. Knowing what I know I would make the same choice just because the sound provided by this product is more than enough and the balance between the price of the product and the quality provided is well made. If you're searching for a Drum Kit that sounds good, is easy to use , is well-made and also is a keeper, without a doubt, this is the right choice

    2box DrumIt Five MK2 - A solid 4 stars with potential for 5

    by Drumitrocks
    11-29-2012 14:07
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=107337" alt="" title="2box DrumIt Five MK2 - A solid 4 stars with potential for 5 " /></p>Pros: the quality of the sounds housed within the brain are difficult to beat. Former Roland customer here. Playability is good too. Can use mesh, rubber, or real drum heads. Open sound source with company website offering periodical updates to sounds, features, and operating system. You can import your own .wav files and make your own sounds. It's a fraction of the cost of a flagship Roland kit yet in a sonic comparison, I'd be shocked if the Drumit did not prevail. Cons: The rack system, while certainly adequate, does not denote a sense of professional gear. There seems to be a mismatch that could be sending a mixed message to consumers. The kit should scream "professional's choice" and is so to being worthy of just that. Cymbal triggering can be a bit fickle, especially the bell. No positional sensoring at this point. A choice of colors other than orange would most likely be welcomed. Headphone output is not nearly as hot as Roland modules. Overall, I feel it's a big upgrade in many ways from my Roland kit. For the serious drummer who demands serious sounds, this kit should satisfy. A matchup of hardware to parallel what is likely to be the best sounding module available, would make this already superb kit the one to beat.

    Kopf Percussion S-Series Snare Cajon - Very high quality cajon!

    by waynerouse
    11-14-2012 20:31
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=166565" alt="" title="Kopf Percussion S-Series Snare Cajon - Very high quality cajon!" /></p>I tried several cajons from several different brands. I found that the Kopf cajons were just at a much higher quality standard than the others that I played. I love the poplar wood....it has such a warm tone. Also, the padded seat is alot more comfortable during long sets. The sound quality is amazing, it has really deep bass tones and a great slap and snare tone. There is also a great separation between the bass and the snare, really can't hear the snare when hitting the bass tones. Overall, I would say that you can't go wrong with purchasing this cajon. It is priced at $299.99 but there were other brands that had cajons around that price and the quality really wasn't there. i would recomend this cajon to anyone who is looking for a professional quality cajon.

    DW Drums 5000 TD3 - The TD3 vs the AD3

    by stompboxjon
    09-13-2012 13:12
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=58566" alt="" title="DW Drums 5000 TD3 - The TD3 vs the AD3" /></p>The DW 5000 is a very well built and designed kick drum pedal that I have seen used many times. You can purchase the DW 5000 single bass drum pedal for around 190 to 220 dollars online or in your local stores. Of course this is the TD3 version of the pedal, there is also a AD3 which to me doesn’t really hold weight to the DW 5000 TD3 because the TD3 is just flat out a lot faster than the other one. The TD 3 has built in adjustable spurs and non skid Velcro so the pedal won’t start moving on you while playing. The quality of the 5000 TD3 is better than most of the other DW lines including the 4000, 7000, and maybe even the 9000 line. Plus TD3 could be more affordable than those other versions from DW. I feel that clean across the board the TD3 could be the best DW pedal on the market even though it has been out for a few years now but it is still being used on so many DW machines. The TD3 provides you with a more easy kick or stroke to the drum, while the AD3 will give you a more powerful punch to the drum. So when it is all said and done it will come down to how you feel about the pedal. It will be more about how you like your kick to feel, the best bet for any one considering this pedal would be to go try them out first, that way you won’t make the wrong decision and you will get what your personal taste likes. But both the DW 5000 TD3 and the AD3 are both great pedals, they are very well built and will last a long time. Since they are pretty standard pedals now, almost any DW kit you check out in the store will have one of the pedals that I described so you will be able to see which one you like. Great value and price with the TD3 line and a very fluid feel to it. I recommend it!

    Ddrum dominion maple pocket - Pretty nice kit

    by Mattfig
    06-24-2012 01:01
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=69582" alt="" title="Ddrum dominion maple pocket - Pretty nice kit" /></p>I like the look and feel of this kit...I'm not a drummer by choice, it's simply out of necessity in the studio...The kit records quite nicely when mic'd properly...The finish is beautiful and all hardware is nice a stable.. The sound is a standard rock tone. The kick is deep but small which makes an interesting punch in the low end...I tried a lot of drums while searching and these were the best value for what I was getting...It's a nice middle of the road kit- better than the standard pearls and tamas IMHO... Knowing what I know now, I would certainly consider purchasing this kit again although there are others in its' price range that offer similar ammenities...

    Roland TD-3KW - great electric set

    by theaudioandvideoguy
    05-30-2012 16:19
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=52277" alt="" title="Roland TD-3KW - great electric set" /></p>So after a trip to Guitar Center on a Thursday evening, myself and a buddy of mine start looking into some electronic drums. One of the first ones we messed with where the Roland TD 3kw. At first glance all the electric drums looked the same to me. But I think the thing that made Rolands TD 3kw stand out a little more was how real it actually felt to play them. You really had the sensation of playing a real set. Ofcourse without the loud sound of drumming. I actually plan on getting he Roland TD 3kw for my son when he gets a little older but by that time they will have so many other upgrades to this one it will be called something else. So my friend purchased the set for his home studio and he has been using it daily and I get the chance to use it too. I love how you can just put headphones on and jam out without making hardly any noise at all. Plust the own board part where you can load your kits on. The price of it wasn’t too expensive to me because I was so use to seeing the prices of the high end real sets that this was like a breathe of fresh air , the Roland TD 3kw was the first electronic drum set that I have used on more than 1 occasion and im happy to get the chance to use it when I can. I can say its pretty tough too, I have seen it get knocked over several times with it being in a small space with a lot of other non musical stuff going around it gets hit and stuff spilled on it but it keeps working perfectly fine. This will be perfect for someone who needs drums in there room and can make a lot of noise. that’s why I want my son to have these.

    Roland SPD-S - Perfect for home use

    by theaudioandvideoguy
    05-29-2012 03:21
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=9122" alt="" title="Roland SPD-S - Perfect for home use" /></p>The Roland SPD s is a drum/ sampling pad that is really affordable. It allows you to bring some of your drumming into life in your music without having to go out and pay for a large drum set that will take up a lot of room in your home. This is the perfect tool for a drummer who wants to lay down some great drum patterns and cant afford a real drums set or just doesn’t have room to put it. It is also small enough that you can take it almost anywhere with you and because they are pads and not drums, there is no “real” sound. So you can put some headphones in and start playing and people around you cant hardly hear a thing. Set up is really easy, it comes with the ability to play up to 8 different sounds simultaneously on 6 different pads. It comes pre loaded with over 150 different drum sampled sounds that you can use right away and they don’t need much eq’ing. The sounds are good, there is even an sequencer right on the device so you don’t have to slave it to another outboard sequencer if you don’t want to. So these means that if you want you can use it as a stand alone device and don’t have to have anything else running it or sequencing what you are playing because it can do it all on its own. It has the ability to import .wav files from your computer (pc or mac). Overall, this is perfect for someone like me (who doesn’t have room for a drum set in the apartment). I can lay down some really good drum grooves and record them, then I usually track it out into another sequencer so I can start adding some bass and other instruments to the drum patter that I made with the Roland SPD S. Not to mention that this machine doesn’t cost much either.

    Basix custom tobacco - could be better

    by ericthegreat
    12-01-2012 14:22
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=62602" alt="" title="Basix custom tobacco - could be better" /></p>The Basix Custom Pearl Export is a good starter set for up and coming drummers. Pearl has always prided them self on putting a quality product with a great sound. Pearl has a great reputation when it comes to music equipment. Unfortunately after play with this drum set it didn’t feel as good as it did on the higher in models that Pearl makes. The snare didn’t quiet sound like I liked it, and even after trying to tune it several times I still couldn’t get it to be how I wanted it. The toms are pretty good, cant really complain about them too much. They do tend to have a deeper lower more hollow sound than other Pearl sets that I have used or experimented with over the years. I have tried several Basix models throughout my life, and this is the only one that I felt really fell short of my expectations out of this brand. But like I said, if this is your first set then its great. If you’re a beginner you definitely want to go with this set and get a feel for Pearl. But you will need to upgrade at some point throughout your drumming career. With knowing what I know now if I went back in time, I wouldn’t have got this set. Even though I am happy with the set, I would have just put out more money and got the upgraded version of this Basix set. The price of this set is a little to high for the quality of it. You can get other sets on the market for a cheaper price that are the same as Basix Custom. My advice would be to shop around and look at different brands if this is what your price range is when you are buying your drum set.

    Ludwig Drums Black Beauty Brass Supra Phonic 14 x 6.5 Snare - A classic

    by James...
    12-21-2011 01:44
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=129265" alt="" title="Ludwig Drums Black Beauty Brass Supra Phonic 14 x 6.5 Snare - A classic" /></p>Brass shell. Black finish (obviously), Chrome hardware and lugs, supra-phonic technology whatever that is. I'm not a snare nerd. I'm a producer. The studio I work in most of the time has about 5 or 6 snares to choose from. Our black beauty is the standard model, and we hardly ever have to tune ours. Some snares are very finicky about needing to be maintained a lot but this is not one of them. So that's good. We typically aren't fans of metal snares because they tend to sound "ringy" or "pangy". The black beauty is actually quite warm yet defined and sort of crisp sounding in a way. There's a couple of things I've found about the black beauty during my years recording it. In the drum room it sounds out of place sometimes, and almost obnoxious in the mix. But for some reason when you record it, the thing blends perfectly. It has this very distinct tonality to it. Go listen to "assassin" by john mayer. That is a perfect example of the black beauty. It's a cutting yet warm snare that sticks out of the mix in all the right ways. Put some reverb on it and magic happens. The weight on the black beauty is great too. People are usually surprised when they feel it for the first time as it looks like it would weigh a lot more. We have a couple other steel snares that weigh something like 50 lbs. The black beauty is half that. We probably use this on over a 3rd of the tracks we do. It might be the most popular snare in studio. Surprisingly the heavy metal guys seem to like it more than anyone. It's a great snare and one of my favorites.

    Pearl Export EX

    by 3magic
    12-16-2011 16:39
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=34805" alt="" title="Pearl Export EX" /></p>I just wondered what you people who owns Export EX drum-kits thinks about them.. I'm considerating to buy a Export EX-kit and i need positive or negative feedback so you guys can let me know if the kit is worth the money..

    Pearl Eliminator Demon Drive Bass Drum Pedal - For the price of a drum set, I had to pass on this

    by DubiousDubs
    07-12-2011 02:49
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=44490" alt="" title="Pearl Eliminator Demon Drive Bass Drum Pedal - For the price of a drum set, I had to pass on this" /></p> In the market for a new double bass drum pedal i borrowed my buddies’ Pearl Eliminator Demon Drive Bass Drum Pedal. This pedal is no beginner pedal, it is expensive and is meant to be used incombination with a skilled drummer who knows what he or she is looking for in a set and wants to get something that fits to his or her needs. This pedal is for turning a single kick drum into a double setup, easily without having the burdon of a second kick drum and needing to tune them perfectly. I have found that this pedal fits those rockers who are deep into metal and fusion alike. The precision of this double kick really comes into play when doing triplets on kick or fast paced doubles. This pedal feels great on the feet, and allows a ton of customization of feel, to zero in on a specific kind of force feedback required and demanded by the owner. The pedal is smooth beyond a doubt, and this is great for session work. I really liked the bearings as they were silent and supposedly never need oiling. Maintenance to a greater degree is nothing to worry about with this setup, i can see in the last 5 years the drum pedal has come a long way. Iron cobra days are over. If you have the money to shell out about 600 dollars or so, I would get this double kick and never look back. The ease of use and maintenance free life of use will make up the costs if you plan on using this thing for 5 years or so. And that should be no problem, because with the technology behind this pedal, I don’t see a need to upgrade anytime soon. Then again, for the price of this pedal one can get a PDP drum set or a nice guitar. I mean it really is a selective purchase that comes down to a few small decisions: 1. having the nicest best pedal is a must, and 2. crazy technology savy user who can make use of a double kick in a majority of percussions. I am neither of those two so I opted to return the kick to my friend and purchase a cheaper DW double kick which was well below half the price of this one and suits my needs beyond the call.

    Vater Signatures STEWART COPELAND Standard Limited Edition - The bead on these sticks is worth all the money in the world

    by DubiousDubs
    07-12-2011 02:36
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=78041" alt="" title="Vater Signatures STEWART COPELAND Standard Limited Edition - The bead on these sticks is worth all the money in the world" /></p>I am not going to lie, I am a huge Police fan, especially of Stewert Copeland and how he integrated so many different rhythms into contemporary rock reggae of western world. I love his jazz influences and I always felt as a player, he and I both shared similar views of style and rhythmic approach. About 2 years ago I saw these Vader sticks for sale in the music shop, and immediately was purchasing a pair. I expected something, either extreme joy, or quick regret when I got them home and blasted away on my set. These sticks do not disappoint. Who ever at Vader worked with Stew to develop these sticks did a fantastic job. They fill a void in stick offerings which has been missing for years. They have a very light feel, are easy to hold in my hands ( i have somewhat average to small hands) and the most amazing part about these sticks are the bead. The bead is a rounded-oval type that I think is perfect for hi-hat magic, cymbal clarity that cannot be produced with a wood tip, or typical plastic bead found on Vic-forth stuff. The best part about these is they incorporate the feel of a 7a stick, but the length of a 5B. They are long! Really long, which is awesome, and I can think of no downsides to a longer stick. I have found with this approach to stick production, vader has created a universal stick. I cannot think of a music style these sticks can’t do, or do well at that. I love them and hope they are not a limited edition thing, as they really do fill in a void that should be filled by a stick that can perform well and cover a varied degree of styles of percussion and not break via a strong hit or two.

    Pearl export - Spend your money on a maple set instead, skip this one.

    by DubiousDubs
    07-12-2011 02:06
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=manufacturer&amp;manufacturer_id=371" alt="" title="Pearl export - Spend your money on a maple set instead, skip this one." /></p>Pearl doesn’t disappoint so long as you don’t set your sights on perfection. I owned a mid 1980s pearl export series back in the mid 1990’s and it was absolutely fantastic back then. If I was going to use that same set today, I wouldn’t be so amazed. Likely because in the last 15 years or so, drum shell manufacturing has become much less varied and more precise between different setups. But I digress, as I was recently at a weekend gig where there was only a Pearl Export series in red. I got to know the set really well over the next few nights, and I was surprised by how well the sound was, but at the same time I was relieved to stop using the set at the end of the weekend. Here’s why: 1. The set moved around a lot. The rubber bottoms to the floor tom were harder than I like and slid around the wood floor. I guess I should have procured a drop rug for the set, but it wasn’t my call. 2. the toms move around a lot. This is common with DW too, and I attribute this to the common use of simple hardware connections. I don’t mind this as much, but it can get annoying after a while, and it might rub against the body shell of the kick drum and etch and mark the set. If I can recommend a better bang for your dollar, go with a Yamaha stage custom. It’s not as common as this set, you don’t see everyone sporting one, and it sounds a lot better, and I think Yamaha really has their equipment together, from the manufacturing to the presentation. Little things are missing from this set, and in the bigger picture, when combined, leave me missing out on an experience by a long shot. I can’t say for sure totally what is wrong with this cheaper set, but for starters for the price, you should be getting a maple wood, but you are not.

    Roland PM-30 - Nice addition to a V-drum setup, throw away the headphones

    by DubiousDubs
    07-12-2011 01:55
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=60197" alt="" title="Roland PM-30 - Nice addition to a V-drum setup, throw away the headphones" /></p>The PM-30 Drum monitor is something I went without for too long. I had a nice set of V-drums back in 2003 and would plug in a headphone set and play like that. Otherwise, I would direct in to my soundboard and blast them through my PA system. I probably did a ton of damage to the cones pushing through the kick drum sounds. I came across one of these 2.1 speakers in a box systems, and couldn’t pass it up. It packs a 200 watt amp, a really nice 12” woofer and a pair of 4” satellite speakers. I really would have never thought having this unit would improve the sound from my headphones, but I made the switch and am never going back.

    Mapex Brass Master Snare - Nice professional snare, great for studio work but very heavy

    by DubiousDubs
    06-12-2011 11:46
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=123029" alt="" title="Mapex Brass Master Snare - Nice professional snare, great for studio work but very heavy" /></p>This is a snare that I was not expecting to like very much at all. I was involved in a studio recording with one of these snares, and I first tried to not use it. I have been let down by Mapex before, but in 2010 I helped my nephew setup a Mapex set and liked the stock snare. I figured it was a one-off, because back in 2005 I played a Mapex set with a wooden snare that I hated. This snare comes in various sizes, and if i recall the studio had a 5x 13 snare version. I was going to settle for a piccolo snare thin body just because I didn't want a brass snare sound, but the recording engineer recommended otherwise. I could not argue, it was his call and I conformed. This snare had a crack and a snap to it that required very little power or force. I was pleasantly surprised by this. I expected after a few hours playing on it it would die down but it didn’t. The more I played this snare the more impressed I was with the sounds I was getting. Sure the hardware itself, the snare fastner felt like garbage aluminum bent into shape, but the thing functioned fine. I was completely impressed, as I am a drummer and musician who cherishes in good purchases for little money as possible, and this snare certainly delivers. The only thing I didn't really like was lifting the snare up, it was very heavy. This is definitely a good thing for a professional recording atmosphere where the set stays in one location at all times, but if you are a traveling drummer out on the road a lot or just like to transport your set around a bunch, you might not want this snare. I would say this snare is not for the beginner, but for the experienced drummer who is looking for a big band drum sound. The brass brings this snare into the classic marching drum realm of sound, while it is heavy and solid and has the crack and snap of that of any American band like Bruce Springsteen’s Max Weinberg “big room snare” or other artists of that era and genre.

    Mapex Voyager 2010 - Nice cheap set, for someone on a budget or a young child

    by DubiousDubs
    06-12-2011 11:26
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=115268" alt="" title="Mapex Voyager 2010 - Nice cheap set, for someone on a budget or a young child" /></p>I was recently shopping for a beginner set for my nephew. He seems like the kind of ten year old that will not give something up easy. That’s important for a drummer, because giving up the drums is a pain, not to mention expensive to purchase and depreciated value is astronomical. To minimise risk, I decided to focus on cheaper, common drum sets with standard hardware, that incase he quits, can be resold or integrated into other sets or different hardware can be changed out. For this I settled on a Mapex Voyager 2010 Jazz 5 piece drum set. Thus far, over a year or so, he has stuck with the drums, and is doing really well. I attribute this to a good set, that can take the abuse a ten year old can dish out, while not being intimidating, or too big for him. MY first set was a ludwig parts set, which was huge, old, and falling apart. I told him he was lucky, but I think he realized it when he went to school band and saw the imported garbage sets the school uses, he apprechiated his Mapex. As he should, because the build quality of this set is remarkable. For such a cheap price, (under 500 dollars US) you get comparible build and sound to a low level DW. I do not kid, yes there are some trade-offs, save cheaper woods, and yes to an expert this would matter, but for someone just starting out on a budget, or older but looking for something nice yet cheap, this is a great set. It came with a DVD instruction setup video which was nice but I was there and we didn’t bother with it. He picked out a black set, but I liked the Burgundy myself. Standard set sizes, 22x18 bass drum, 12x9 and 13x10 tom toms, 16x16 floor tom, 14x5.5 snare drum. I like the snare sound, although it took some time to get the resonating to settle. The hardware like kick pedal feels cheap, but functions fine. All in all, i think this is a great introductory set and wouldn’t think twice about picking up another one for a young player or someone who is on a strict budget.

    Remo ER-0010-00

    by DubiousDubs
    06-12-2011 10:31
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=136222" alt="" title="Remo ER-0010-00" /></p>I have the other 2 sizes, 6” and an 8”, and these three are an awesome addition to any drummer looking to play progressive rock music, Latin, jazz, anything with world instrumentation. Also, these are great if you are into world music and looking to broaden your percussion approach from beyond the typical “jazz setup” drum throne. The good news is this unit is cheap. The better news is it sounds absolutely fantastic. The best news is it will stay strong for a long time, and will have tons of different uses both as a addition to an awesome drum rig, or to complement some soft atmospheric pieces. This 10 inch is very easy to set up and tune and have made a nice addition to my kit. The tonal quality is just as I expected, very good for one’s money, and help "mix" things up when looking for additional tom sounds. With the ease in which I can tune these is the best feature of all. Sometimes I am in the middle of playing anything on it, and I quickly rotate it quick for a great change in pitch as it resonates. This can add a nice touch to the song if you use it correctly. After you get comfortable switching as you play, it sounds amazing. I have marked with sharpie marker the different settings I like for the various tunings for some pieces I play. Since they can be tuned melodically, this is a great asset to any percussionist, or rum player alike, regardless of skill. I notice when people check out my set, they seem to gravitate towards my roto-toms. I don’t know why, but I can guess it is because they look so different from the rest of my drum kit. They are really cool, easy to maneuver, easy to use and add a ton of functionality without taking up as much space as the instruments they replace. I would recommend this 10 inch with purchase of the 8 and 6 as well, to add to any existing rig or other percussion already owned regardless of skill level, beginner, expert alike.
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!