• Studio User Reviews RSS Feed


  • Content by Audiofanzine

    Yamaha MG166CX-USB - Excellent and value for money

    by nicolaizen
    12-04-2014 03:43
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=15400" alt="" title="Yamaha MG166CX-USB - Excellent and value for money" /></p>It is rackable, analog console, with 10 mic line in, phantom power, 16 line in XLR, 8mono and 4 stereo in, 3 range parametric EQ. For more details you should address to the website of Yamaha. With the USB connection it works like a sound card and mixer. It is grate and so far with no problems.

    Samson Technologies S-Com Plus - synchronisys reviews

    by synchronisys
    06-03-2014 16:50
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=2621" alt="" title="Samson Technologies S-Com Plus - synchronisys reviews" /></p>Synchronisys (as per reviews) is an IT Services and Consulting company with openings for junior positions in Software Testing/QA, Business Analysis, Java, .Net and Mobile App Development (Android/iOS). We work with major Fortune 500 Companies across the US. We prepare and support our Consultants with the necessary training and tools to succeed. If you have a background in IT/Computer Science, Business, Management, Accounting or Life Science we would like to talk to you. US citizens, Permanent Residents, OPT/CPT holders are encouraged to apply. Sponsorship for immigrant visa and green card is available. Our Benefits package includes: - A starting salary between $50,000 to $70,000 for fresh graduates with periodic reviews and increments - Life, Health, Vision and Dental coverages - Short-term accommodation during Training - Relocation assistance - Employee Referral Program(Handsome Referral Bonus will also be given for referring the candidates) - Skill Enhancement Training

    Focal CMS 65 - They do the job :)

    by Goldybeats
    03-17-2014 16:32
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=80862" alt="" title="Focal CMS 65 - They do the job :)" /></p>I really like these CMS-65. I wanted some monitoring to creat hip hop beats and instrumentals, and they really do the job. I compose all in the box, in Logic X.

    Joemeek JM37 - Joe Meek JM37 - A perfect mic

    by Reani
    11-03-2014 08:24
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=35070" alt="" title="Joemeek JM37 - Joe Meek JM37 - A perfect mic" /></p>The Joe Meek JM37 is a large-diaphragm condenser studio microphone. It is manufactured by the PMI company (USA): http://www.joemeek.com/microphones.html PMI bought (in 2003) the "Joe Meek" brand from Ted Fletcher, who named his audio equipment line in honor of Joe Meek, the controversial but highly appreciated British songwriter and sound engineer of the 1950's and the 1960's. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Meek The Joe Meek JM37 user manual is here: http://www.joemeek.com/pdf/jm37_manual.pdf Audio samples here (switch to AAC 256kbps, and prefer "dry" samples): http://www.thomann.de/gb/joemeek_jm37.htm

    Behringer C-3 - Noisy microphone!

    by ruud.vansteenis
    10-02-2014 21:08
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=53929" alt="" title="Behringer C-3 - Noisy microphone!" /></p>The Behringer C3 is a cheap electret microphone with switchable patterns.

    Genuine Soundware / GSi Burn - Look no further than "GSi Burn" for a leslie sim

    by NWB3player
    01-30-2014 08:35
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=187063" alt="" title="Genuine Soundware / GSi Burn - Look no further than "GSi Burn" for a leslie sim" /></p>The GSi/Crumar "Burn" has wow'd me, a die hard real, working, Hammond B3/Lesle 122 player. Highly suggest real and clone players seriously looking at this and buying. Metal encased, ability to lock. Incredible sound and accuracy. Much better option over the Ventilator 1, mini, and vers 2 imo. Incredible edit ability including: - offers many different cabinet variances (122 and 147, Model 16, combo amps, etc. and the sound is amazing (and I never get wow'd by Hammond clones or Leslie pedals). - also offers non-leslie effects to call upon and tweak like delays (analog and digital), phaser, chorus, more so it pairs with other elec pianos/keys well, not just organ. - design your sounds/settings and save to any number of user presets. - has a standard ring-tip-sleeve REMOTE jack (for added stomp or halfmoon switch pedals) - MIDI In and Thru onboard. Easily control all effect aspects an your clones. - offers a "pass-thru" on the right input ch, allowing one to connect audio in from another source and play through un-effected. Great feature for many uses. - Has a nice, editable/flexible reverb to be called upon and used (or turned off). - True bypass, stop, and speed stomp swithes on the front. switches are not the "click" type. - 12AX7 tube inside, Overdrive can be turned one in addition to the simulated cabinet tube modeling for some really screaming and musical overdive. - Faithful reproduction of the leslie sound, but with tons more editable features compared to the current competition (Vent, Hammond Leslie pedal, etc). - ability to separately edit the upper and lower rotor aspects and operation compared to the competitive products. Quite important. - Headphone out with volume knob. - Upgradeable ROM (latest update 1.01 adds the 147 cainet, very nice). - Records well, fits in the studio scenario so nicely.

    Shure PG42-LC - Great for vocals on modern music

    by redjoy
    01-18-2014 15:33
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=157280" alt="" title="Shure PG42-LC - Great for vocals on modern music" /></p>Tried this condenser mic on a pro studio environment, and also in a room with no acoustic treatment. fairly bright, and a little bit risky for recording a nasally vocalist with a terrible handling on "ss".

    Genuine Soundware / GSi Burn - My XK3 never sounded so good!

    by scoultrane
    06-11-2013 22:27
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=187063" alt="" title="Genuine Soundware / GSi Burn - My XK3 never sounded so good!" /></p>This is a very flexible piece of gear, and the guys at GSI are constantly updating their firmware to improve their products - which means you won't be forced to buy a new gadget a few years down the line. The input gain is a little on the low side, but it's easy enough to use the headphone output to increase the volume if the sound guy needs more juice from the keyboard. The input / output / MIDI options are very flexible.

    Sony mx 12 - Good mixer

    by dlsalter1
    01-11-2013 01:14
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=161265" alt="" title="Sony mx 12 - Good mixer" /></p>This was a good low cost mixer for it's time. It has 6 mic/line inputs which may be used as 6 mono inputs or 3 stereo inputs. The mic inputs are low Z unbalanced using 1/4 inch jacks. The line inputs are high Z unbalanced using RCA jacks. The mic level outputs are 1/4 inch jacks, the line level outputs are RCA jacks at -10dB. There is a 20dB switchable pad on each input. There is a rotary master gain pot and a dual mechanical VU meter. There also is a headphone jack but no headphone volume control. It will operate on 6 D cells or an external power supply. I have used mine for live recording, P.A. mixing and radio broadcast mixing.

    Studio Projects B3 - Versatility At A Price You Can Afford

    by vsavagellc
    10-27-2013 06:55
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=4314" alt="" title="Studio Projects B3 - Versatility At A Price You Can Afford " /></p>The Studio Projects B3 is a low budget condenser mic. It's good for recording the following: Vocals Instruments Foley Audio Seriously, it's a mic and it records sound, that's what it's good for. It has good quality, features and comes with a mic clip and foam windscreen. Make sure you upgrade that windscreen, get a pop filter as well, especially if you plan on recording vocals. I got this mic back in 2002 (seems like a while ago) and I've had it in my collection ever since. It's not burnt out, came apart etc. I mention that because people tend to look at low budget mics as cheap recording tools that will fall apart. You just have to take care of your gear.

    Roland VS-880 EX - dont get it

    by suburbanguitarhick
    10-26-2013 20:22
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=6903" alt="" title="Roland VS-880 EX - dont get it" /></p>i learned how to use the older vs 880vx expanded model. and after finally getting to know the ins and outs of that one, i bout the 880ex so that i could link my two machines together. well i had no prob linking them, there isnt enough info on how to use them this way. what dissapointed me the most is that the 880ex is a completely different machine. i basically had to learn how to do things with the new machine that i had already mastered on the old system. the vx expanded had the three different mixing modes. the 880ex uses this color coded mixer routing stuff . orange , red, and green. (i am red green color blind!!!!) hello. i basically need to get an identical vs 880vx expanded and sell the ex because it is not an 880 it just shares the name. what a rip!

    Tascam DR-40 - Best Recorder In It's Price Range

    by vsavagellc
    10-21-2013 10:18
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=126776" alt="" title="Tascam DR-40 - Best Recorder In It's Price Range" /></p>I want to start off by saying this is a very good recorder. Tascam truly delivered with this unit and I'm surprised other companies don't follow in their footsteps. What I liked Least: I hate the floor noise, the preamps are a lot noisier than other recorders in this price range, but not by much. I making this non because it could have been a little quieter. But still, fantastic recorder and the noise is nothing that can't be cleaned Other Recorders: I've tried tons of recorders: Zoom H1, Fostex FRle, Zoom H2n, Olympus etc... I'd like to focus in on the main competitor this recorder rivals which is ZOOM's H4n. The DR40 doesn't have as many features as the H4n, but it has enough as well as 2XLR inputs and it's $70-$100 cheaper than the H4n. There is no record in the DR40's price range that offer 2 XRL inputs, that's something major to consider. The stock mics switch from XY to AB pattern and they have a guard which helps reduce the chances of the mics breaking when bumped around unlike the most recorders. I also love the fact that the DR40 has "Dual Recording" Mode. This means it has a auto safety track so if one track clips, there is a another track (a back up track) which is recorded lower than the original. That allow is a really great feature and one that has saves me time and time again. Sound Quality: I would say the Dr40 sounds just as good as most recorders. Especially it's close rival the H4n. I've put the recorder up against a more expensive recorder like the FR2LE and could hardly notice a difference. The stock mics sound good, but not as good as a shotgun mic so I would suggest using this recorder a long with a shotgun mic. If you're planning on getting this recorder, know that it accepts 3 AA batteries. I would buy lots of rechargeable batteries and keep them on hand. When you use the Phantom power (to power mics) it eats at the batteries a little quicker, so be prepared

    RODE NTG-1 - Affordable Shotgun Mic (good quality)

    by vsavagellc
    10-21-2013 09:53
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=37306" alt="" title="RODE NTG-1 - Affordable Shotgun Mic (good quality)" /></p>The Rode NTG1 is a shotgun microphone with a hyper cardiod pattern. Meaning that it captures a more narrow direct field of sound. I want to say view, but this isn't a lens although the same analogy applies. This mic can be used a number of different applications Field Recording Foley Recording Voice Overs Dialog for Film Sound Fx Recording I use it for field recording and and capturing my own sound fx. It's a very versatile microphone.

    Radial Engineering ProRMP - No studio should be without one

    by MountAnDewMe
    08-22-2013 09:40
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=78803" alt="" title="Radial Engineering ProRMP - No studio should be without one" /></p> The Radial Pro-RMP is designed to take a line level signal and transform the impedance to make it useable with an instrument amplifier. The purpose is to take some of the pressure out of the recording process. This way the artist can work on getting a good musical take recorded knowing that the finished sound can be created later on. The devise is basically a high quality transformer housed in a tough as nails metal enclosure. There is a XLR input where you would send the signal from your recording device and a quarter inch out put to route the signal to any amplifier of your choice. This is an analog device that is considered to be passive, meaning it requires no external power to operate. There are also two controls present, one to help set the output volume and a ground lift switch to eliminate any noise that may occur from a ground loop between devices. The box is about the same size as an average stomp box and built like a brick.

    Genelec 8260A - Gen 8260 for HIFI use

    by udayan32
    05-08-2013 14:39
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=88053" alt="" title="Genelec 8260A - Gen 8260 for HIFI use" /></p>Coaxial mid /high driver(s),aluminium enclosure, DSP correction, very low distorsion levels, no need for a subwoofer. I Use them for my pleasure only, they replace a quite expensive HIFI system.

    Audio-Technica AT2020

    by Lf
    07-22-2013 21:13
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=10718" alt="" title="Audio-Technica AT2020" /></p>Cardioid, large-diaphragm condenser mic.

    Shure KSM44A - Excellent Quality Mic..with a caveat

    by rol123
    06-07-2013 01:18
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=105775" alt="" title="Shure KSM44A - Excellent Quality Mic..with a caveat" /></p>Solid, super well built professional STUDIO microphone, solid state/transformer-less 'pletharos' design. Multi-pattern. Incredibly low self noise. LARGE diaphragm condenser.

    Korg Sound On Sound - great little easy device

    by mike.hullbb
    05-27-2013 03:19
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=98373" alt="" title="Korg Sound On Sound - great little easy device" /></p>I baught it because I don't want to bounce after two or three recordings. It is really easy to use. Just follow your instinct. For the money it is just great. I used the Boss micro BR and it does a very good job too, but Like I said before, I have to bounce every now and then, because it only has four tracks. Now I can just keep on recording and at the end I finalize the material and put it into my computer. Realy cool! The quality of the microphone is not too bad, but if I want to make a more quality recording, I rather use my AKG condensator microphone. I use the Micro BR in combination with the Korg sos. The BR has more effects then the Korg. Still I am very happy with it and I am using it to make real CD's!

    Audio-Technica AT2020 - Flat

    by killahbzz
    04-28-2013 16:39
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=10718" alt="" title="Audio-Technica AT2020 - Flat" /></p>Features: Typical application: proximity micing. Cardioid polar pattern. Maximum SPL: 144 dB. Other Features: Type: Permanently polarized condenser with fix loaded plate Frequency response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz Self-noise: 20 dB Sensitivity: -37dB (@ 1 Pa) Signal-to-noise ratio: 74dB (@ 1 Pa) Dynamic range: 124 dB (@ 1 kHz) Impedance: 100Ω XLR male connector Accessories included: Threaded stand clamp 5/8'' - 3/8'' thread adapter Used primarily to record ambiance and sometimes vocals (rap)

    Behringer C-1 - To start out before moving on to something else

    by killahbzz
    04-28-2013 16:07
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=20082" alt="" title="Behringer C-1 - To start out before moving on to something else" /></p>What kind of mic? (for vocals, instruments, both...) I used it to rap and for vocals... Now I use it to sing karaoke with my wife The technology? (electret, condenser...) Condenser, cardioid, in short a very simple mic.

    Benchmark Media Systems DAC1 HDR - Benchmark Media Systems DAC 1 HDR

    by billybeek
    04-26-2013 08:36
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=156607" alt="" title="Benchmark Media Systems DAC1 HDR - Benchmark Media Systems DAC 1 HDR" /></p>almost all

    Behringer Eurorack UB1622FX-Pro - Try the XENYX1204 too

    by TJGeeter
    01-04-2013 05:20
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=3754" alt="" title="Behringer Eurorack UB1622FX-Pro - Try the XENYX1204 too" /></p>There are 16 inputs on the UB1622FX-PRO and a bunch of knobs and sliders. This mixer reminds me of the XENYX 1204usb mixer that is also made from Behringer. The UB1622FX-PRO is no longer manufactured and has been replaced by several models but I still think that the quality and build of the UB1622FX-PRO is one of the best they have made over at Behringer.

    Behringer Eurorack MX1602A - Loved it

    by TJGeeter
    01-04-2013 05:04
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=3968" alt="" title="Behringer Eurorack MX1602A - Loved it" /></p>This mixer is pretty good as most of the Behringer mixers are. The Eurorack series have been involved in my set up for a long time and I have never had any issues with them.

    Neumann U 87 Ai

    by JoeW1
    03-25-2013 05:02
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=1082" alt="" title="Neumann U 87 Ai" /></p>Neumann U87 Ai is a recording microphone that is based around a condenser technology.

    Audio-Technica AT2020 USB

    by DorMar
    03-15-2013 20:30
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=79088" alt="" title="Audio-Technica AT2020 USB" /></p>Audio-Technica AT2020 is a recording mic that its based around a condenser technology.

    Phonic Helix Board 18 FireWire - Powerful

    by stompboxjon
    03-13-2013 18:07
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=46390" alt="" title="Phonic Helix Board 18 FireWire - Powerful " /></p>The Phonic Helix 18 is a 14 channel mixer that will work with Windows computers running XP service pack 1 and service pack 2 and even Vista computers in 32 and 64 bit. You will just need to have a faster processor for it to work perfectly. These specs are very important with this interface because there are some driver issues and compatibility issues that can come about.

    Alesis MultiMix 16 USB FX - Waiting for it to ship!

    by stompboxjon
    03-13-2013 16:55
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=113914" alt="" title="Alesis MultiMix 16 USB FX - Waiting for it to ship!" /></p>The MultiMix 16 is a mixer that has 16 channels and built in effects, it connects to a computer via USB connection and is also an audio interface. There are a lot of knobs on this unit and with the price I didn’t expect it to be as good as it was. I had a chance to use this, and see another artist do a demo on it at a music conference in Tennessee not too long ago. It immediately caught my attention from watching him use it.

    JBL Control SB-2 - Inexpensive and great low end

    by stompboxjon
    12-03-2013 05:09
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=25928" alt="" title="JBL Control SB-2 - Inexpensive and great low end" /></p>The JBL Control SB 2 is a vented bypass subwoofer that works with the JBL control contractor series systems. The weight of this woofer is around 42 pounds and that is pretty standard with the size and weight of other subwoofers that I have used over the years. It has spring loaded terminals (input) and 8 ohms per each channel. It has a peek capacity of 340 watts (power). The frequency range goes down to 38 Hz to help with some of the JBL systems that do not extend that low. Depending on which JBL system you have, this is a must have because a lot of them do not have that low end bass. This is probably the best woofer to go with for the price (only for JBL systems though) because the sound and low end is perfect for the price. I have used other woofers in this price range that do no sound as full and rich as the Control SB 2 does.

    MXL iBooster - I Jam on it!

    by mrjason
    07-02-2013 16:10
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=43322" alt="" title="MXL iBooster - I Jam on it!" /></p> The MXL iBooster is a guitar and microphone interface that is on for a Mac computer. There have been a lot of bad reviews on this product in the past with people complaining about the quality of the recording but it only cost 35 dollars. What kind of quality recording do you expect to get for 35 bucks?

    Radial Engineering Cherry Picker - Great for condenser mics

    by mrjason
    06-03-2013 12:49
    <p><img src="http://img.audiofanzine.com/image.php?lang=en&amp;identifier=id&amp;size=thumb1&amp;module=product&amp;product_id=166397" alt="" title="Radial Engineering Cherry Picker - Great for condenser mics" /></p>I just used the Radial Cherry Picker for the first time this week and I must say I am very impressed with the built in 48V phantom power and clean warm sound. This pre amp has a straight wire signal path that does not color your sound and is very clean. If you use this with condenser microphones you will hear how well the phantom power works and how quiet and clean it is. I have used two different microphones with it so far it the sound is amazing. I am surprised that this preamp does not cost more than it does.
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!